Japanese Zucchini and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I didn't change a thing. Next time I might try to make it an entree by adding rice and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
great recipe! This is my "go-to" side dish when I'm picking up things at the farmer's market. We have super sized zucchini here on Maui, so I only need to use one. Also, using a Maui Sweet onion gives it such a nice kick with the Aloha Teriyaki and Shoyu sauce (all Hawaii local). I only used 1/2 T of seeds, because a full T seemed to overpower this recipe. I also add a 1/2 Tbsp of butter to this recipe, like I do with Japanese Fried Rice, and it turns out great. So glad I found this recipe...makes me think of all my yummy meals at Benihana! Adding hibachi steak next time, I'm sure it will be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Loved it. No teriyaki so subbed oyster sauce. Tasted great still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I really love this recipe. It's my favorite way to use zucchini now. I've tried it with and without a splash of sesame oil, and really, either way is great. I like making some extra sauce to make sure there's some to splash over a steaming bed of rice. Thanks for a really great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I followed the instructions exactly. My helper said it tastes like "nothing". Not sure what I did wrong but there was very little flavor. After trying to eat it as is, I added some crushed red pepper and granulated garlic. I had some liquid in the pan, so I added 1 tbsp corn starch mixed with a tiny bit of water. Much improved with 1/4 c Parmesan Cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Mmmm! Loved the flavor! Mine sauce was quite watery with the zucchini juices, so I sprinkled in some corn starch right into the juice whisking it until it thickened up ever so slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Took advice & added garlic. Hubby thought it had a crunchy taste, even though the zucchini was cooked through. We both liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
very tasty. I must admit that we like our food rather spice so I made changes to this first time out. I added 1/2 tablespoon each of Ponzu, and sriracha and 3/4 tablespoon Tiger sauce. really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Cox Richey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Fresh and delicious. I have never liked the taste of teriyaki, so I just added a little more soy sauce (gluten-free) and I could not find my sesame seeds so I used a toasted sesame ginger seasoning that I had on hand. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I tried it, I did not have terriaki sauce. But added butter and lemon juice from another reviewer. I will try it again with terriaki sauce...and see if it taste better..I will be back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States