Japanese Tofu Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cristy
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I LOVED this recipe and so did my "meat and potato" husband. Basically used the recipe as a base and added mixed veggies such as peppers, red, yellow or/green, broccoli, shredded carrots, snap peas, fresh sliced basil, and put tomato at the end of stir so it doesn't get mushy. In addition to the spices in the recipe, I used lemon pepper, little bit of chili powder or curry powder, white wine (to replace the mirin). I put this with rice and was a hit! I loved this so much that this is my first recipe post I am submitting!! This is was definitely added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Point, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I enjoyed it very much. Unfortunately, my husband voted it "not a repeat." He discovered that he's not crazy about tofu that is not crispy on the outside. We both really liked the dressing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
delicious! i used green onion instead of red to my taste, and threw in some rough grated carrot. thought bean sprouts would've been good too, am planning on trying that next time. i did not find it to be even a bit too saucy; it all absorbed into the tofu -- which i recommend freezing, i never have to press it afterwards and it has the best texture, even uncooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Loved it, with the decrease in the amount of sauce as others mentioned (used the same amount of the aromatics though). I used shallots, since I didn't have red onion. Used fresh tofu from a local tofu shop, which is amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BethLind
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband raved about this salad and I have to agree! It is very tasty and I have several ideas of things we could add to the salad for some variety. This will be a recipe that will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethLind
Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I just made this for a potluck and everyone was asking for the recipe. I did brown the tofu in a little oil to firm it up. I also minced jalapeno and added it. Next time I may try some other veggies since, as other reviewers said, there's extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I couldn't imagine raw, albeit pressed, tofu cubes, so I stir-fried them in a small amount of sesame oil. I also substituted a can of drained mandarin organ segments for the tomatoes. I added a bag of mixed greens and tossed it all together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Excellent salad dressing. I also add some greens (spring mix works great) and leave out the red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Oh man is this one ever good. So simple!!!! I always buy my tofu in water bins at an Asian market, so the tofu tastes smooth and creamy. I ate this whole recipe by myself for lunch. I will make again and again, and adding extra veggies is super easy. UPDATE: I made a big batch of this for my lunch. The next day the sauce made the tofu taste a little strong and bitter. It was still good, but just too strong. I would recomend eating it right away or mixing the salad together and throwing the sauce on when you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
We use just shoyu and sesame oil for the dressing. I leave out the onion and cilantro, and add in some cucumber. Sprinkle with sesame seeds, and, simple and delicious dinner that my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States