Japanese Tamago Egg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Originally I was going to save some but I loved it so much I ate it while it was still hot! EXCELLENT recipe! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was so delicious and I'm going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
You dont need to use dashi. I just used the mirin and i like my tamago sweeter so i made it 2 tables spoons. Also its nice served cold. You can keep it wrapped in cling wrap in the ref so it stays moist. Once your ready to serve it, thats the only time you slice it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was lovely, and so easy to do! I'll definitely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very tasty! I substituted chicken stock with a little fish sauce for the dashi, and served it on top of sushi rice patties with a strip of nori around each piece. This one is going into my recipe notebook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Well I don't have dashi but I made the dish with everything but that and it turned out fabulous. It's super easy and delicious. Also I used a large round non stick pan it worked perfectly. No need to hunt down a tamago pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Smells amazing while you're cooking and it tastes even better. Although I substituted dashi stock and sweet wine with seasoned rice vinegar. Still worked out great although the color of my version is quite as yellow. Not sure if that is due to cooking it too hot or from my cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Great alternative for my kids lunches! they loved it and now request them weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Good recipe. Had to substitute a milder fish sauce for the dashi stock, because I was out. oh no! but the recipe tasted good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Good stuff. I personally feel that wrapping the slices with nori (seaweed used for onigiri) makes it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Duran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States