Japanese-Style Grilled Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe didn't really work out. I didn't know if the Broiler should be on high or low, then when I did put it on high, it almost started on fire! And it still wasn't cooked through. Then I tried again, this time with the broiler on low, and after 20 minutes of cooking, it wasn't cooked through. Maybe my mushrooms were too big. The sauce it made, on the parts that were cooked, tasted good, I guess it'll just take some tweaking to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
excellent, I will do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Sesame oil burns very easily so be sure to set the broiler to low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this with emporer enoki mushrooms sliced lengthwise into "steaks" and have broiled them and, another time, grilled them on my George Foreman Grill. On the grill they cooked in 2 - 2 1/2 minutes. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I loved these! The only reason I am giving a 4 instead of a 5 is that 2 tablespoons of sesame oil was a bit overpowering and needs scaled down in my opinion. The recipe also doesn't state to set the broiler on high or low but I found low to work great. The garlic really browns up in those ten minutes and adds great depth to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I don't see why these aren't getting better ratings. The seasoning you put on these mushrooms are to suit your palette anyway. If you are not much on sesame seed oil, go light on it, or not at all. Be sure to broil on low, as well. Otherwise, great shrooms!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoHug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Good thing there were some reviews, though I didn't read all right away until the broiler started smoking and the shrooms started burning. I moved the oven rack down even farther - about 8" and switched from Broiler High to Broiler Low before my husband had to fan the smoke alarm to keep it from going off. I think the idea for this recipe is good, but (1) way too salty with so much soy per shroom, (2) the sesame oil did seem to smoke quite a bit, had I not caught it in time it would have been disastrous, (3) would have been nice to have the instructions a little more informational about broiler temp. The plating looked great, but it was just way too salty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
These mushrooms were absolutely devine, I just added 1 tablespoon sesame oil and 1 tablespoon rice bran oil to make up the amount required, cooked 150c with grill element only with open oven door. I totally can recommend Yum yum.... 10 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was literally the best mushroom side-dish recipe I've ever tried. I also don't understand why some people have rated the recipe lower - if you don't like sesame oil so much, scale down the amount you use (or as I did because we'd run out of sesame oil, use olive oil!) and watch it to make sure it doesn't burn! Use your own gut instincts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States