Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe and easy to make. Messy, though, so be prepared. My only suggestion would be to dredge, dunk and coat all the shrimp first then let sit on a wire rack or parchment paper while the oil comes up to temp. This does two things. 1) it allows the coating to become set. 2) it greatly facilitates the deep frying process so the oil is not sitting and breaking down while you prepare subsequent batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great fried shrimp. The key is the panko. It's texture allows it to fry up golden brown and crunchy before the protein it's stuck to (in this case, shrimp) gets overcooked. Some tips: You could probably use 1/2 the flour mixture. Add the seasoned shrimp to the flour, stir to coat, and then gently shake them out over the garbage can in a wire strainer to remove the excess flour. Make sure the shrimp are very dry when you do this or they'll be gummy. Have a big plate or baking sheet covered with wax paper ready to place the shrimp on after you've coated them all with the egg wash and panko. Then, it's off to the fryer. Makes for an easier cleanup, and you don't have to juggle making them/frying them simultaneously. Panko is very coarse so you may have to help it stick by pressing it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Wow! These are by far the best tasting fried shrimp I've ever eaten. My husband is a bit of a food snob and he devoured every last one. This is a recipe that I will make again and again. It's fast, super easy and the finished product is very impressive. I followed the recipe with the exception on the flour and panko, which I reduced by half. Turned out to be the right amount with little waste. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Excellent, but I think Old Bay is missing from the ingredients. I dusted the shrimp with Old Bay, then flour, egg, panko. Just the touch that was needed to take these over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I wound up making these because DH wasn't able to get his "shrimp & fries basket" at the ice cream stand we took the kids to. I volunteered to make him shrimp and fries at home. I recently bought Panko bread crumbs at Whole Foods just because. Well, they use them all the time on Food Network, so they must be good, right? Definitely! This recipe is definitely going into the Keepers File. Hubby declared these the best shrimp he's ever had. Too bad the fries weren't on par with the shrimp. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. Really, really good! My husband will only eat seafood from nice seafood restaurants. He was shocked I could make the same quality, delicious fried shrimp at home. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Just good for us. My 1 lb. of medium shrimp was 20 shrimp. Instead of eggs I used beer to dip. Definitely 1/2 cup flour if not less; same with the panko crumbs. It's easier to add more if necessary. Just make sure you have the ingredient bowls by the stove because they fry very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by mrzjlew
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe was great and easy. I prepared this recipe while my tilapia recipe baked for 24 minutes. When the tilapia came out of the oven, I added the shrimp to a plate and dinner was served...EFFORTLESSLY in under an hour. In the future, I will only use half of the flour because I threw more than half of it away in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrzjlew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
So delicious and way cheaper than going to a seafood restaurant! We dipped these in a sweet chile sauce and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Fantastic but there are few tips to ensure resturant quality. First make sure you season shrimp before dredging in flour. Do not try and skip this step by mixing in flour it makes a big difference in shrimp taste. Shake excess flour off and let sit a few to ensure it is dry. Then dip in egg and panko again let it sit 5 to 10 min before frying this help secure the batter to the shrimp and it fry's so nice. You can do the same to pork, beef or chicken make sure you put the meat between a sheet of wax paper or plastic bag and flatten with mallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States