Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
FANTASTIC! This is an excellent recipe to get restaurant quality fried shrimp at home. I added a tablespoon of Lawry's Season Salt to the flour along with the paprika. I also doubled the recipe. Here are a few tips: (1) Make sure your shrimp is rinsed and completely dry before seasoning with the garlic, salt, and pepper. This will prevent the shrimp from becoming gummy in the flour. (2) If you use shrimp with 'tails on' then the tails make an excellent little "handle" for dredging in flour, dipping in egg, then Panko & helps to keep your hands less messy. (3) Go ahead and prepare all of the shrimp and lay them out on a large plate to sit for a few minutes before frying. This ensures the coating has time to set up and will not come off in the oil. Use this time to clean up your counter so that when your shrimp come out of the fryer you can serve immediately with no mess to clean up. (4) Fry only a few at a time so as not to lower the temperature of the oil. Your cook time will be about 3-5 minutes per batch, depending on the size of your fryer. I doubled the recipe and it only took me about 5 batches to fry them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was outstanding. I am not a fan of fried food, but hubby was wanting fried shrimp. Did not taste the least bit greasy. I did add Old Bay to the seasoning mix. We dipped them in a sauce of Thai chili sauce, orange marmalade, and thinned with rice vinegar. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ Bev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Love these for their simplicty and fantastic taste!!! Always a hit at any party. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These were great. I added some old bay seasoning and I cut the flour down to half a cup and still had more than enough. Will make a again. These are flavorful and have a great crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This recipe was a major hit with my family, we had surf n turf and everything came out awesome!! I just made sure the shrimp was well seasoned since the egg, flour and panko crumbs were not :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbzbmom
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Great easy to make I did not have Panko bread crumbs so I used regular plain bread crumbs and it was still good and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I thought these were just great! Really good flavoring, awesome breading and the perfect crunch. I only had sub par, no name, small shrimp in my freezer when I decided to try this recipe and they were still great. Can't wait to do the same with better quality shrimp. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Panko makes it extra crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Simple and delicious.....there's nothing more to say!!! Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Terrific shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States