Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Went to Costco, bought 4 lbs of super size shrimp, and wondered how much to freeze for later. Uh, None! Breaded those babies up,served with homemade cocktail sauce, and they were devoured. Awwwwwwsome! And btw, the amount of flour listed for 1 lb was enough for my 4 lbs of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Liked it. I baked, instead of frying, but it made no difference, these turn out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The best homemade shrimp I ever made. Stayed so nice and crunchy and NOT greasy. I too like others used Bay Seasoning and let the shrimp sit for 15 min after breading. I used extra large shrimp and cooked for 2 minutes - which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have just finished eating this wonderful shrimp. Unlike other recipes, it does not get soggy sitting on the plate. I placed my panko-coated shrimp on a wire rack for 15 minutes before cooking, so the coating would adhere. It worked beautifully. Don't alter the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Yum easy fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Easy, very crispy and not at all greasy fried shrimp. I added some chipolte pepper and cumin (1 tsp of each) to the spice mix to add a little depth of flavor. A variety of dipping sauces completes the dish. Even my "I never eat fried foods" wife vanished them from the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scootir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Simple, easy and great! I added a little Old Bay to the Panko, and cooked it up just as recommended. Came out fantastic! Added my home-made cocktail sauce and some lemon. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made this for my husband for his Birthday, he said it was the best fried shrimp he'd ever had! It was delicious and had a nice crunch to it! No changes needed. For best results fry in batches and keep warm in an oven or toaster oven until frying is complete. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
these turned out crunchy and delicious, definatly will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rowley
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great recipe for fried shrimp, they come out extra crunchy outside. I prepared all the shrimp first and laid them out on a rack over a sheet pan, then I could easily drop them into the fryer without having to wait in between batches. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States