Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Amazing shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
These shrimp were crispy on the outside and full of moist shrimp goodness on the inside. Tasty! One thing though- it took WAY longer than 20 minutes total to make these. The dunking in all the different things took awhile, and because they couldn't all cook at the same time, the cooking also took a bit longer. I used less oil than indicated, because I don't have a deep-fryer or deep skillet, just a normal one, so the result were a bit less deep-fried than intended (which I thought was ok). I also took the suggestion to use less flour (1/2 cup) and I even still ended up with a bit of flour left over. My housemate also really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
fantastic! Followed it exactly and it was excellent. Though next time I'm going to substitute the panko with flour and baking powder and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Great recipe with the right amount of spices! I used regular bread crumbs and it worked just as well, the prep took longer than I thought but prepping them all before cooking was a great idea! Thanks all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was so easy to make. We loved it--so crunchy and flavorful. I substituted Paula Deen's house seasoning for the flour/S&P/garlic powder/paprika because it is so similar, and I had it on hand. I fried the shrimp in my BD deep fryer. This is now my go-to fried shrimp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Went to Costco, bought 4 lbs of super size shrimp, and wondered how much to freeze for later. Uh, None! Breaded those babies up,served with homemade cocktail sauce, and they were devoured. Awwwwwwsome! And btw, the amount of flour listed for 1 lb was enough for my 4 lbs of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Liked it. I baked, instead of frying, but it made no difference, these turn out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The best homemade shrimp I ever made. Stayed so nice and crunchy and NOT greasy. I too like others used Bay Seasoning and let the shrimp sit for 15 min after breading. I used extra large shrimp and cooked for 2 minutes - which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I have just finished eating this wonderful shrimp. Unlike other recipes, it does not get soggy sitting on the plate. I placed my panko-coated shrimp on a wire rack for 15 minutes before cooking, so the coating would adhere. It worked beautifully. Don't alter the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States