Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This shrimp was delicious. I took some other reviewer's suggestion and added Old Bay to season the shrimp. For a shortcut I used cooked shrimp breaded it and cooked it in a cast iron skillet. Simple to make and a fast easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Although messy, these turned out great! However, next time I need to use more egg and had to add more Panko bread crumbs because I had almost twice as many shrimp. I don't think I will be buying shrimp from anywhere when I can make them better at home! I did add seasoned salt & onion powder to the shrimp and paprika & cayenne pepper to the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HauteChocoLot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Excellent...cooks on 1.5 minutes...crispy, crunchy...add seasonings to both the shrimp and flour...next time I will also add seasonings to the panko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Paired these with the Garlic cheese biscuit recipe from this site and my family thought I'd picked up dinner from the seafood chain they love so much. First time I ever attempted fried shrimp to boot! Will made room in the recipe box for this one. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Gardner Vance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
came out perfect...cant beat this recipe..thanks ait0shi for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Delicious. I seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder and then dreged in flour with paprika and cayenne. I added shredded coconut to the panko. These took no time to fry up in my electric skillet, maybe 2 minutes total, as soon as I saw the tails turn pink I took them out. Served with a dipping sauce of pinapple preserves, spicy mustard, honey and horseradish. My boyfriend said they were better than the ones we had at McCormick and Schmict's last week. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucy
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These are really great. However, if you dont have a deep-fryer or something with a steady temp gage you might have to work the controls of your stove...like, I did. I followed this recipe to a T and the shrimp were perfectly cooked and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Amazing recipe. I tried frying my shrimp just like this after buying panko for a Chicken Parmesan recipe I found on here. Turns out great every time - my 4 y/o and picky husband loved them as well! (As another person stated, its best to let these sit at least 4-5 minutes while letting your oil heat up. The breading adheres better this way.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made these last night and they were great. My mom doesn't like fried shrimp. My sister and fieonce don't like shrimp at all and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I wasn't a member of AllRecipes, but I had to join just to rate this recipe! Best Shrimp I've ever tasted. I made it exactly as the recipe states, except I used the Ziplock Bag method to bread in the flour and Panko...not so messy. Also I let them sit in the Panko while I heated the oil...helped the breading stick. Wonderful Recipe! Restaurant Shrimp will never be good enough again. No thanks, I'll use this recipe and make my own! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States