Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I just finished a wonderful fried seafood dinner with my husband and this is recipe we used to make, not only fried shrimp, but also fried pieces of cod. I followed the recipe to the tee and it was perfect. Well...almost to the tee. The only thing I did different was coat all the shrimp and pieces of cod first and let sit on a rack for about 15 minutes so the coating could set up. I fried in a cast iron chicken fryer and used a deep fryer thermometer to keep tabs on the oil temp. My large shrimp and pieces of cod were toasty brown and cooked to perfection inside in less than 5 mins. After dinner we decided we'd indulge in fish and chips once a month or so because this is just soooo good. I used "Chef John's French Fries" recipe. Perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious, crunchy shrimp. I was craving just something like this and it hit the spot. I followed the directions but had about 1 1/2 pounds of shrimp so had to almost double everything. Excellent method for getting crunchy shrimp. We dipped in sweet & sour sauce. Perfect. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
So great! I did as another user suggested and prepared they all then fried in batches. Fool proof recipe! So good I didn't need any cocktail sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for dinner tonight and it was super delicious with a perfect crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by womanwithstixs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Yummy! Subbed flour for House of Autry seafoood breader and seasoned shrimp with Old Bay (a cabinet staple for any Virginian such as myself) and this came out great! Will cook again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I tried a recipe a few weeks ago for fried shrimp and it was okay but not great. This week i made 2 different recipes for fried shrimp and did a taste test with my wife and kids. Everyone picked this recipe. I could taste the garlic and pepper but they are very suttle. I might add a little more garlic next time. This is definately the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Didn't liked these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scorpio1882

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Sorry, y'all. I didn't actually make it, yet. Planning on it this weekend. I had a question about the sauce in the video. It looks good. What is it? Did you buy it or make it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Used this fried shrimp recipe to make poboys for the family. Everyone loved it! Thanks so much for the great recipe! This Panko shrimp will definitely be the only way I'll fried shrimp from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States