Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mrzjlew
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This recipe was great and easy. I prepared this recipe while my tilapia recipe baked for 24 minutes. When the tilapia came out of the oven, I added the shrimp to a plate and dinner was served...EFFORTLESSLY in under an hour. In the future, I will only use half of the flour because I threw more than half of it away in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrzjlew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Wow! These are by far the best tasting fried shrimp I've ever eaten. My husband is a bit of a food snob and he devoured every last one. This is a recipe that I will make again and again. It's fast, super easy and the finished product is very impressive. I followed the recipe with the exception on the flour and panko, which I reduced by half. Turned out to be the right amount with little waste. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. Really, really good! My husband will only eat seafood from nice seafood restaurants. He was shocked I could make the same quality, delicious fried shrimp at home. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I use this recipe to cook just about anything I want to fry. It is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! I used smoked paprika cuz that's what I had on hand. The Panko makes all the difference so if you don't have any, don't bother to make these shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
great mix of spices! this recipe was so helpful, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My husband is from Louisana and very picky about how shrimp is prepared. He loved this recipe. I made no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Elkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Just good for us. My 1 lb. of medium shrimp was 20 shrimp. Instead of eggs I used beer to dip. Definitely 1/2 cup flour if not less; same with the panko crumbs. It's easier to add more if necessary. Just make sure you have the ingredient bowls by the stove because they fry very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Great recipe! Simple & quick. I tried adding just a pinch of ginger to liven it up a bit which proved delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mise En Place

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States