Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Fantastic! I've never made fried shrimp before, and these turned out perfectly on the first try. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Fantastic but there are few tips to ensure resturant quality. First make sure you season shrimp before dredging in flour. Do not try and skip this step by mixing in flour it makes a big difference in shrimp taste. Shake excess flour off and let sit a few to ensure it is dry. Then dip in egg and panko again let it sit 5 to 10 min before frying this help secure the batter to the shrimp and it fry's so nice. You can do the same to pork, beef or chicken make sure you put the meat between a sheet of wax paper or plastic bag and flatten with mallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this last night for the first time. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was. My husband, who tends to be super picky, liked how crunchy the shrimp turned out and he said they had good flavor and didn't need cocktail sauce. Considering he puts hot sauce on everything, that's a huge compliment. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to use larger shrimp. My local store only had the 35-40 shrimp pp on the shelf. I'd probably try to buy the 15-20 pp next time to see if that made a difference. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Dorfman Dillon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pingree Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Just delicious and enjoyed by kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charrise
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Hands down the best I've ever had! I served these for 12 people at our Christmas dinner and everyone loved them and said they were the best they've ever eaten as well. I omitted the garlic powder....they don't need them and I added some buttermilk to my eggs...........fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charrise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
i decided too try something new for lunch and i was not dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These were really great. I didn't have panko but used cornmeal instead for second dip and added some cayenne to the flour. I will use Panko next time but this was a great process to follow! They were cooked to perfection in four minutes. Better than any I've had in a restaurant and I live on the Gulf Coast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Cooked this last night & it turned out looking like the ones from Red Lobster, in other words. AWESOME! The only suggestion I can think of is to add a bit more seansoning to add more flavor, I cooked this with Chicken Chow Mein so the "lack" of flavor didn't bother me. Overall & easy & awesome recipe! -C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I make chicken and pork this exacty way ALL the time because Panko is the only breading that provides a good crunch! I never even thought to use shrimp. This recipe is simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States