Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Cooked this last night & it turned out looking like the ones from Red Lobster, in other words. AWESOME! The only suggestion I can think of is to add a bit more seansoning to add more flavor, I cooked this with Chicken Chow Mein so the "lack" of flavor didn't bother me. Overall & easy & awesome recipe! -C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I make chicken and pork this exacty way ALL the time because Panko is the only breading that provides a good crunch! I never even thought to use shrimp. This recipe is simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yummy!! I used the Zatarain's fish fry mix with the Panko. I found it easier to dip the shrimp in the egg, then the Panko, and lastly the fish fry flour mix. It made for a well seasoned crunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Nothing about this recipe needs even a little bit of tweaking! I served with Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad from this site and Japanese white rice for a restaurant-quality Japanese meal that I will definitely be making again! Thanks for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I forgot all the seasonings -- and they were still yummy! Just used whole wheat flour, 2 eggs and panko. DELICIOUS. The coating is substantive but still light, crunchy and tender. I had a really tasty cocktail sauce so I didn't even notice that I forgot all the seasoning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiapet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I removed the tails so these would be easier to eat, and I added Tony Cacheres to the flour mix, and a little milk to the eggs, but those weren't major changes. I have always used flour/corn meal to fry shrimp but not anymore! The panko makes such a crispy, tasty crunch on the outside. This will be my go-to for frying shrimp from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Delicious! I had 24 good size shrimp that I seasoned with hawaiian salt, black pepper and little garlic powder. I also added some into the flour mixture. I made sure to use a lot more panko crumbs so there was enough coating on all the shrimp. The shrimp is cooked perfectly! The panko breading is a delicious lightly seasoned crunchy breading! I am pleased and satisfied that this main dish turned out so well. I dipped this in, "Japanese Shrimp Sauce I," and served this with, "Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans,""Cucumber Sunomono," and "Miso Soup," all from this website. The shrimp, side dishes and soup are all terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
OMG! So good!I just made them today. I'm supposed to be on a strict diet but when I made these,I didn't care. I lost track of how much I ate as opposed to how much I should have eaten.I did make 2 pounds of shrimp but kept the flour measurement and added an extra tsp of paprika and an extra cup of panko.I dipped them in a sweet chili sauce and they were so perfect together! I'm looking forward the the leftovers!Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
My kids and husband just loved this! I cooked it exactly as it was written and they turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julien

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Amazing bread for shrimp, scallops, mushrooms, etc. Followed suggestions of adding Old Bay Seasonings to the flour. We also added salt and pepper to the panko to give it even more flavor. Fried up nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States