Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this last night for the first time. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was. My husband, who tends to be super picky, liked how crunchy the shrimp turned out and he said they had good flavor and didn't need cocktail sauce. Considering he puts hot sauce on everything, that's a huge compliment. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to use larger shrimp. My local store only had the 35-40 shrimp pp on the shelf. I'd probably try to buy the 15-20 pp next time to see if that made a difference. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pingree Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Just delicious and enjoyed by kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charrise
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Hands down the best I've ever had! I served these for 12 people at our Christmas dinner and everyone loved them and said they were the best they've ever eaten as well. I omitted the garlic powder....they don't need them and I added some buttermilk to my eggs...........fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charrise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
i decided too try something new for lunch and i was not dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These were really great. I didn't have panko but used cornmeal instead for second dip and added some cayenne to the flour. I will use Panko next time but this was a great process to follow! They were cooked to perfection in four minutes. Better than any I've had in a restaurant and I live on the Gulf Coast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Cooked this last night & it turned out looking like the ones from Red Lobster, in other words. AWESOME! The only suggestion I can think of is to add a bit more seansoning to add more flavor, I cooked this with Chicken Chow Mein so the "lack" of flavor didn't bother me. Overall & easy & awesome recipe! -C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I make chicken and pork this exacty way ALL the time because Panko is the only breading that provides a good crunch! I never even thought to use shrimp. This recipe is simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yummy!! I used the Zatarain's fish fry mix with the Panko. I found it easier to dip the shrimp in the egg, then the Panko, and lastly the fish fry flour mix. It made for a well seasoned crunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Nothing about this recipe needs even a little bit of tweaking! I served with Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad from this site and Japanese white rice for a restaurant-quality Japanese meal that I will definitely be making again! Thanks for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States