Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Simple, easy and great! I added a little Old Bay to the Panko, and cooked it up just as recommended. Came out fantastic! Added my home-made cocktail sauce and some lemon. It's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made this for my husband for his Birthday, he said it was the best fried shrimp he'd ever had! It was delicious and had a nice crunch to it! No changes needed. For best results fry in batches and keep warm in an oven or toaster oven until frying is complete. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
these turned out crunchy and delicious, definatly will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rowley
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great recipe for fried shrimp, they come out extra crunchy outside. I prepared all the shrimp first and laid them out on a rack over a sheet pan, then I could easily drop them into the fryer without having to wait in between batches. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
FANTASTIC! This is an excellent recipe to get restaurant quality fried shrimp at home. I added a tablespoon of Lawry's Season Salt to the flour along with the paprika. I also doubled the recipe. Here are a few tips: (1) Make sure your shrimp is rinsed and completely dry before seasoning with the garlic, salt, and pepper. This will prevent the shrimp from becoming gummy in the flour. (2) If you use shrimp with 'tails on' then the tails make an excellent little "handle" for dredging in flour, dipping in egg, then Panko & helps to keep your hands less messy. (3) Go ahead and prepare all of the shrimp and lay them out on a large plate to sit for a few minutes before frying. This ensures the coating has time to set up and will not come off in the oil. Use this time to clean up your counter so that when your shrimp come out of the fryer you can serve immediately with no mess to clean up. (4) Fry only a few at a time so as not to lower the temperature of the oil. Your cook time will be about 3-5 minutes per batch, depending on the size of your fryer. I doubled the recipe and it only took me about 5 batches to fry them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was outstanding. I am not a fan of fried food, but hubby was wanting fried shrimp. Did not taste the least bit greasy. I did add Old Bay to the seasoning mix. We dipped them in a sauce of Thai chili sauce, orange marmalade, and thinned with rice vinegar. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ Bev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Love these for their simplicty and fantastic taste!!! Always a hit at any party. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These were great. I added some old bay seasoning and I cut the flour down to half a cup and still had more than enough. Will make a again. These are flavorful and have a great crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This recipe was a major hit with my family, we had surf n turf and everything came out awesome!! I just made sure the shrimp was well seasoned since the egg, flour and panko crumbs were not :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbzbmom
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Great easy to make I did not have Panko bread crumbs so I used regular plain bread crumbs and it was still good and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Deep Fried Turkey

See how to deep fry a crispy skinned turkey in 45 minutes or less!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States