Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
the easiest way to make temputa shrimp ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Geefam3
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Da Bomb! This is the best fried shrimp recipe on the internet...hands down. Not only do they fry up picture perfect, they also have an award winning taste! You might be saying, "I don't have any panko crumbs in my pantry!" My response to you is to go and get some from the grocery store because it is DEFINITELY worth the trip! I added Old Bay to mine and they came out simply scrumptious. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks ait0shi for sharing this winner of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Easy and delicious! Just like the fried shrimp at the local teriyaki restaurant. I've only cooked shrimp a couple times before and only deep fried a couple times before, and even mine came out perfect! I have found a new love for panko crumbs, which I had never used before. Next time I'll only measure out half the flour mixture as I had lots leftover. The panko measurement was just right. I also ended up needing an extra egg to make the full pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very fast, easy, and extremely tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
We LOVE this. I add a little cayenne pepper to taste and my family goes crazy over this. I'm not typically the cook in our house but if fried shrimp is on the menu they look to me to make it now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Elizabeth Huval

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cecilia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Awesome! the best fried shrimp I ever had. I used more panko crumbs than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I'm always looking for the perfect deep fried shrimp recipe, and this is close! I threw in some scallops, too, which also came out beautifully. At the end and after draining on paper towels, I squeezed half a lime's worth of juice over everything. Wonderful! Next time I do this, I will decrease the flour, as I only needed half that amount. Maybe that was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelingGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
AWESOME! I had never used panko before but have made several other recipes with it since I made these shrimp. They are wonderful! Thanks for the recipe and turning me on to panko :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great fried shrimp. The key is the panko. It's texture allows it to fry up golden brown and crunchy before the protein it's stuck to (in this case, shrimp) gets overcooked. Some tips: You could probably use 1/2 the flour mixture. Add the seasoned shrimp to the flour, stir to coat, and then gently shake them out over the garbage can in a wire strainer to remove the excess flour. Make sure the shrimp are very dry when you do this or they'll be gummy. Have a big plate or baking sheet covered with wax paper ready to place the shrimp on after you've coated them all with the egg wash and panko. Then, it's off to the fryer. Makes for an easier cleanup, and you don't have to juggle making them/frying them simultaneously. Panko is very coarse so you may have to help it stick by pressing it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States