Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe and easy to make. Messy, though, so be prepared. My only suggestion would be to dredge, dunk and coat all the shrimp first then let sit on a wire rack or parchment paper while the oil comes up to temp. This does two things. 1) it allows the coating to become set. 2) it greatly facilitates the deep frying process so the oil is not sitting and breaking down while you prepare subsequent batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These were delicious. If you had set a plate of these shrimp in front of me I would have thought they came from a restaurant. I brought some to work and reheated them, they were not as crispy, but still got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These were okay, but not nearly as good as the coconut shrimp on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
These are Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSE621US

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
my boyfriend seriously said "this is the best fried shrimp I've ever had". Hint-this is a bit messy. Use left hand to dip it in the eggs n flour. Drop it in the panko and use right hand to cover. This way you can keep one hand wet n one hand dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Turned out wonderful, crispiest shrimp ever!! Hubby loved um! Will surely make again. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Panco rocks! :) Really - I wish I knew to use those in the past when I ruined a number of shrimp and chicken dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
The best fried shrimp I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This makes a really good breading for fried shrimp. I used it to bread my jalapeno stuffed shrimp for a party and got rave reviews! The only thing I really changed was I used 1/2 plain panko breadcrumbs and 1/2 Italian style breadcrumbs and didn't add the salt. The other thing to watch for is the shrimp will be done after about 2-3 minutes so be careful not to over cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States