Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Thank you so much for this idea! I have had Panko in my pantry for awhile and had no idea what to use it with. The Panko made the shrimp crunchy and crusty - perfect! I had actually marinated the shrimp early in the day intending to grill it, but when I saw your recipe, I knew my boys would eat it better! My DS3 at 4 pieces and DS1 ate 2! Thanks again - I'll definitely be using your idea again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These were terrrific! A little messy to make, but still quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary LeJeune Swatsworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I used jumbo butterflied shrimp and did add a little onion powder, because lately I seem to add it to everything, but otherwise followed the recipe. Very crispy, mildly seasoned shrimp that were delicious with homemade cocktail sauce. I'd like to use similar breading for coconut shrimp with a sweet pineapple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
WOW!!! I made this shrimp tonight and it is the best fried shrimp I have ever had. I have used panko before but was afraid to try it with shrimp. I will be making it again and again. I did sift the flour off the shrimp before I put it in the egg wash and it turned out great. The prep is a little messy but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justin's Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Thanks for sharing this great recipe. I tried it last night for my husband and he loved it. I am going to make them again over the weekend as an appetizer for dinner party I am hosting. Sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great flavor. Panko crumbs make the crunchiest coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
My kids 1, 4 & 5 yr old and even my picky husband loved it and I'm not good at frying! Thank you so much for the recipe! I cut the flour to 1/2 but still a lot left over. I might do 1/3 or so next time. I was generous with garlic powder, used olive oil and made my own crumbs. The size of the egg was not specified and I used 2 large eggs but end up tossing most of it. 1 egg is plenty if it is a large one. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Tasted great but what a mess! I was up to my elbows in flour, egg, and panko. Next time I'll use jumbo shrimp so I can make fewer shrimp per serving. Great recipe if you like playing with your food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Take it from a shrimp lover, these are THE BEST!!! My husband & I both agreed that this is a keeper and THE only way to fry shrimp from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe was easy to make and came out wonderful. I served this to the guests i had over during house warming and all devoured it. They loved it. I was surprised that i didn't have to go out to buy the ingredients that was needed in this recipe besides the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States