Japanese-Style Deep Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Excellent! Japanese chicken just like in the restaurants. I made mine with wings and my 3-year-old son loved it so much he ate 7 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This is an excellent recipe and it really does taste like chicken that you would find in an Asian restaurant. I couldn't find regular potato starch but I did find potato pancake mix and it worked beautifully. This is the only way I'll make fried chicken from now on. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I was very pleased with the results. The chicken was delicious! I used a bit more garlic than the recipe suggested which turned out very well. Easy recipe, definitely worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This is the best fried chicken I have found. My friends can't believe I made this. Thanks Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
Very good- I was surprised at how much flavor it had after just 30 minutes of marinating. I'll be making this often! Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Soooo Gooood!!!! This was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Very good. I was pleasantly suprised at how well this fried chicken turned out considering that I rarely "fry" anything. I had the opportunity to let this marinate all day. The flavor was nice and the batter was very light. My husband didn't act to impressed when he first took a bite, but ended up eating more than any of us and finished off the left-overs. Needless to say I was very pleased with this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Wonderful flavor! Instead of potato starch, I used instant potato flakes, and also used regular flour instead of rice flour. I even omitted the chicken granules. Still turned out excellent. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Excellent! Make sure your chicken pieces are about the same size before frying, it'll cut out the guess work to see if they are done or not. Great for kids as is, or add a sauce for dipping or to put over rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was a very good recipe. I didn't use eggs and I didn't have any fresh ginger so I just used ground ginger and cornstarch it came out wonderful. Tasted just like the chicken I used to get in Japan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States