Japanese-Style Deep Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Didn't have sweet potato starch (just Katakuriko potato starch) to do Taiwanese popcorn chicken and already had the meat marinating with 2 teaspoons of 5 spice powder so I thought I'd do something with this recipe. I used Mochiko sweet rice flour, added 1 tablespoon rice wine, used brown instead of white sugar, had no sesame oil on hand and added 1 tablespoon tapioca starch after my first batch seemed flat. I used white pepper instead of regular and had to add quite a bit more rice flour. This recipe is so versatile - if you eye it, you can't go wrong. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! Me and my husband loved it. I followed another reveiwers suggestion and just used regular flour and cornstartch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohutta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was delicious and very easy to make.....the whole family enjoyed it, even Little Miss Picky. If you don't have a deep-fry thermometer, put a wooden utensil into the oil and touch the bottom of the pot. If bubbles rise from there, the oil is hot enough. If A LOT of bubbles rise, it's too hot, turn it down a little! I put paper towels in a pasta plate and kept it in the oven at 170 till all of the chicken was fried. Even the chicken I cooked first was still in good shape when it came time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was a big hit with the family. Definately one of our favourites. Thankyou Amy for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
my family liked this one! I also exchanged the potato starch for instant potato flakes. couldnt find ginger root in my grocery store so i used ground ginger about 1 tsp. and used just regular veg. oil. just made the best of what i had. and i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
We love this recipe. I make it often. I add a bit of baking powder to the mixture also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is pretty close to the karaage chicken I had in Japan. I made this last Thursday, and today (Monday) my daughter has requested it for dinner tonight. I did not have on hand the rice flour or potato starch, so I had to substitute with regular flour and cornstarch. I can only imagine how much more delicious this dish would be if I had the original ingredients! Definitely will be a repeat dish for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammyfestejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
yummy I did this with a combo of all purpose flour and corn starch and it came out nice and crispy but not too heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was certainly good, just nothing spectacular. I did not have potato or rice items so used flour and corn starch. Tasty and the kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good! Me and my husband both enjoyed these alot. I will be adding this one to my favorites collection, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States