Japanese-Style Deep Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was really good! Couldn't find potatoe starch so used instant potatoes, really great flavor and easy to make. I used boneless chicken thighs just because I prefer dark meat. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I deboned chicken thighs and cut them into 2 to 3" squares, as my family is not real big on white meat. I deep fried them at 325 degrees and was glad I did: they turned a beautiful golden brown and tasted so good...tender like I remember the little restaurants in Japan made and so very crunchy. Got to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Try using panko instead of going to the trouble of finding the rice flour and potato starch. Lots of big chain supermarkets carry panko in the Asian food section. This tastes great as a breading for fish, too, and those you can broil in the oven. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
delicious although i really didnt taste much but its great kinda taste like tempura ! maybe i did somthing wrong idk but it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Couldn't stop eating them. I made them with wings and they reminded me of these ginger flavored wings I used to buy from Chinatown in san Francisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
very good flavoring! Next time I'm going to drain the marinated chicken before adding the rice flour and potato starch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great recipe! If you can't find potato starch, use potato flakes and grind to a "flour" like consistency in a food processor. Mix with the corn starch. I make a big batch and keep on hand for next time. Also, to keep from biting into large pieces of garlic or ginger, grate them. Hope these tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Great recipe! Very easy to make. I used red pepper to give it just a little more spice and I also used corn starch and regular flour. It came out great and the whole family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larangeles26
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I like the twist of ginger and the unique crispiness of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larangeles26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Didn't have sweet potato starch (just Katakuriko potato starch) to do Taiwanese popcorn chicken and already had the meat marinating with 2 teaspoons of 5 spice powder so I thought I'd do something with this recipe. I used Mochiko sweet rice flour, added 1 tablespoon rice wine, used brown instead of white sugar, had no sesame oil on hand and added 1 tablespoon tapioca starch after my first batch seemed flat. I used white pepper instead of regular and had to add quite a bit more rice flour. This recipe is so versatile - if you eye it, you can't go wrong. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States