Japanese-Style Deep Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This is an excellent recipe and it really does taste like chicken that you would find in an Asian restaurant. I couldn't find regular potato starch but I did find potato pancake mix and it worked beautifully. This is the only way I'll make fried chicken from now on. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This chicken is absolutely excellent! A thin, crispy, tasty batter covering tender morsels of chicken. I served this chicken with basmati rice and steamed carrots. I check the local supermarked for rice flour and potato starch and found they had rice flour but no potato starch. Then I came across a gluten free all-purpose mix in the same store. The mix listed rice flour, tapioco starch and potato starch as the first three ingredients and thus I decided to give it a try. It worked perfectly. Definitely give this recipe a try. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADSISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocanville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Excellent! Japanese chicken just like in the restaurants. I made mine with wings and my 3-year-old son loved it so much he ate 7 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was delicious and very easy to make.....the whole family enjoyed it, even Little Miss Picky. If you don't have a deep-fry thermometer, put a wooden utensil into the oil and touch the bottom of the pot. If bubbles rise from there, the oil is hot enough. If A LOT of bubbles rise, it's too hot, turn it down a little! I put paper towels in a pasta plate and kept it in the oven at 170 till all of the chicken was fried. Even the chicken I cooked first was still in good shape when it came time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Wonderful flavor! Instead of potato starch, I used instant potato flakes, and also used regular flour instead of rice flour. I even omitted the chicken granules. Still turned out excellent. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This chicken has a really good flavor. I used regular flour and corn starch. It was really yummy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is an easy to prepare/cook dish that tastes great. I cooked the 8 serve for 2 of us (fairly large eaters who had not had lunch) and use cornflour(corn starch) instead of potato starch but I did use the rice flour and it turned out perfect. Next time I will be serving it as sticky rice with the chicken on top and a small bowl of some sort of honey sauce to the side. A small garnish of coriander on the rice and chicken would not go astray either. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! Me and my husband loved it. I followed another reveiwers suggestion and just used regular flour and cornstartch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohutta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
this is a great fried chicken recipe. i usually chop more garlic & i agree with one of the reviewers: chop it garlic & ginger really small. i also just used regular flour & cornstarch & it turned out great. sometimes, if i've time, i prepare everything & marinate it overnight. to make it super crispy, oil has to be very hot before you dump chicken pieces in. it's very flavorful. really enjoy making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I was very pleased with the results. The chicken was delicious! I used a bit more garlic than the recipe suggested which turned out very well. Easy recipe, definitely worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States