Japanese-Style Deep Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
i'm from Hawaii and this dish is very common. it's called "mochiko chicken" as mochiko is the brand of rice flour/mochi flour that we have here. it costs less than a dollar a box. try adding some oyster sauce to the mix too. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vampyra1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
u can find potato starch in the kosher section of the supermarket- try to stock up during passover as it is a staple then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I didn't like this at all. I thought the chicken was dry and didn't have as much flavor as I wanted. But, I made this dish for a get together and my friends loved it. I was disappointed though, so I don't plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Flavors are subtle, and the coating rocks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I REALLLYY loved this recipe; It was great, simple, and fun to make. im most def. making it in the near future. ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Great! I make big batches of it, and freeze them for my daughter, so she can have her favorite chicken anytime! It still is crispy after freezing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
We have made this with the rice flour/potato starch and then with regular flower/corn starch and did not notice a difference. It never got really crispy as we would have liked it, but it was still pretty tasty. Letting it marinate overnight gives it better flavor. We might add a few more items to give it more flavor - maybe some (bear with this spelling now) terriki sauce in the mix. Not a bad job however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This is a regular dish of mine now for three years now. For better results, I double the amount of flour and starch (it's worth going out of your way for the correct flour), at least triple the amount of soy sauce and sometime substitute the grated ginger with powdered. Using light peanut oil makes a difference too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is an easy to prepare/cook dish that tastes great. I cooked the 8 serve for 2 of us (fairly large eaters who had not had lunch) and use cornflour(corn starch) instead of potato starch but I did use the rice flour and it turned out perfect. Next time I will be serving it as sticky rice with the chicken on top and a small bowl of some sort of honey sauce to the side. A small garnish of coriander on the rice and chicken would not go astray either. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This recipe was great and reminded me of my mom's japanese chicken! I think it's the aromatics of the ginger. I love it and so did my little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States