Japanese-Style Deep Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This chicken has a really good flavor. I used regular flour and corn starch. It was really yummy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
this is a great fried chicken recipe. i usually chop more garlic & i agree with one of the reviewers: chop it garlic & ginger really small. i also just used regular flour & cornstarch & it turned out great. sometimes, if i've time, i prepare everything & marinate it overnight. to make it super crispy, oil has to be very hot before you dump chicken pieces in. it's very flavorful. really enjoy making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed the chicken. It tasted just like the chicken in Japan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
The chicken was very flavorful and smelled good while cooking. I didn't know what to serve it with though; I think next time I will either use chicken wings to make it, or cut the chicken into smaller pieces(1/2" - 3/4") and serve it as popcorn chicken. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is ok, I had better ones. Thank anyways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
these turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
my husband and i really loved this recipe. will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This chicken is absolutely excellent! A thin, crispy, tasty batter covering tender morsels of chicken. I served this chicken with basmati rice and steamed carrots. I check the local supermarked for rice flour and potato starch and found they had rice flour but no potato starch. Then I came across a gluten free all-purpose mix in the same store. The mix listed rice flour, tapioco starch and potato starch as the first three ingredients and thus I decided to give it a try. It worked perfectly. Definitely give this recipe a try. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADSISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocanville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This is a favorite. I make it at least a few times a month. The potato starch and rice flour really help it be as crispy as I like, though I am currently in a place where I don't have access to rice flour, so I can testify that it's fine either way. Be sure to chop your garlic and ginger really fine. I don't think it's as good with big chunks of ginger hanging around. This is great on top of any kind of rice. I love it because it doesn't take an eternity to marinate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
What a disappointment. After all the rave reviews I thought it would be really good. The chicken was tasteless and the chicken wasn't juicy or dry. I marinated the chicken overnight. I wouldn't bother making this again, but for those who want to try it, you might wasnt to double the soy sauce (and sugar to balance out the soy sauce) for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARATHONMOMM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States