Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Japanese-Style Cabbage Salad" was both tasty and attractive. The dressing was nice and zippy: I made my dressing with fresh ginger and lots of pepper (and a tad of garlic powder rather than the fresh garlic called for since I was making only 2 servings). I made my salad with red cabbage, and the loads of almond slices and loads of sesame seeds, as well as the green onion, contrasted with the red cabbage beautifully. I think this would be a wonderful salad to take to a potluck. If I were to make this salad again, I would let my sliced green onion rest in the vinegar and honey by themselves a little longer before adding the rest of the ingredients (like I usually do) to remove the "skunky taste" from the onion. Thank you Cynthia for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except that I subbed out the sugar and used honey. It is a nice fresh salad but found it a little underwhelming. We felt it needed something to spice it up a bit. Glad we tried it though. Thanks Cynthia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I used half savoy cabbage and half purple, the salad was very pretty and had great crunch. Overall, I enjoyed the salad, although I would substitute half of the sesame oil with another oil next time as the sesame taste did take over the salad slightly as other reviewers found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good slaw! It was simple but went perfectly with the mahogany chicken wings. The dressing could have used a little more sugar and I also used fresh ginger and let the dressing sit for a few hours. It's a keeper especially since it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Excellent! Love the flavors--the fresh ginger stands out, as does the sesame oil and rice wine vinegar. Love the addition of the slivered almonds and sesame seeds. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was very good. Next time I will shred my cabbage to a coarser texture. I did it in the processor because I was lazy and it was too fine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
To give this salad a little "kick", I added a dash of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce. I did not add the full amount of salt and pepper, I added it to taste. I made this around noon today as to give it time to sit in the dressing until dinner. VERY good, though my husband and I thought this needed more dressing. Next time, I will double the dressing ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Just exactly what I was looking for! Used this for a filling in a turkey wrap. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Amazing. As is. Nothing else needs to be said. Just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was such a hit at my daughter's graduation party. I replaced half the sesame oil with half olive oil. I added shredded carrots for color and omitted the sesame seeds. I kept the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States