Japanese Spinach with Sweet Sesame Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I'm sorry to say this was disappointing. It sounded delicious, but it ended up lacking flavor. For me, the sweetness just didn't go well with the spinach; it needed some saltiness, such as soy sauce, to balance it out. Plus, cooking the spinach in sesame oil seems to be a waste, because I couldn't taste it. I think it would work better to wilt the spinach in a dry skillet and add the sesame oil at the end for flavoring. Unfortunately, even the ground sesame seeds didn't work well: They ended up getting soggy sitting on the sauteed spinach. My boyfriend, who loves spinach, didn't care for this, either. I think this might be better, with some modifications, either baked or as a salad. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I made this with asparagus and it was a hit. Be generous with the sesame seeds, and don't skip the mortar and pestle step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This recipe is much like the traditional side dish in Japan. We usually cook ours without sugar, so this was a little interesting. Good flavor though: with and without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I honestly don't even know how to rate this because while reading the recipe, I loved the whole sesame oil and seed thing; however, the sugar totally turned me off and I knew that my family would not be pleased with sweet spinach. I replaced the sugar with soy sauce and added garlic and onion powders and black pepper. With these changes we all thought it was a fantastic side. Thank you for a great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Easy, and very tasty. I had trouble with the sugar - it didn't melt until I mixed it in with the spinach. Had I known that I wouldn't have let the spinach wilt any further while I tried to melt the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Very good but perhaps a bit too sweet.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
A simple dish that usually goes with white rice. Used solely as a side dish, nothing more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Picky husband loved it - what more needs to be said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
to sweet but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegetarian Afrodisiac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Great as a burger topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States