Japanese Soup with Tofu and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Soup was amazing couldn't find dashi. Used vegetable broth with chicken base . Dont really see any use for the tofu so I used asian spinach and a clear rice stick noodles.added some carrots .the green onions I added to the soup while cooking . For garnish I sliced a couple of jalapeños peppers about 1\8 inch thick it added just enough zing to it and my boys and their friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I didn't add the soy sauce as the soup is already salty and I added soba noodles, 1/4 tsp. of ginger, 1/2 tsp. of garlic. This is a delicious addition to my soup rotation for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Perfect! This will be the only miso recipe I ever make. We don't eat unfermented soy so I used: Chickpea Miso instead of the soy miso and fluffy fried egg cubes instead of the tofu. I also added a bit of wakame too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RawWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
it was a little too fishy for me. maybe i'm just not a miso soup person?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
LOVE THIS SOUP! I too did not have access to dashi broth, so used a combo of veggie broth, shitake mushroom stock (which I made myself) and a little bit of oyster sauce. Came out amazing! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Very nice! Tasted just like our local and fave Japanese restaurant miso soup with mushrooms. Made my own Doshi stock with Bonito granuals, used baby bella mushrooms instead of shiitake because of cost. Shiitake mushrooms were out of control priced....fresh and dried! Used a firm tofu and added the scallions at the end. Very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Unfortunately, I could not find Dashi stock or Miso paste in any local grocery store (not even Kroger) - I did find the shitake mushrooms and soft tofu, though. I went ahead and rated this recipe, because the base was really good and I thought my substitutions I had to make, might help someone else who cannot find Dashi stock or Miso paste to at least have a clear soup with Asian flavor. I used the soup as an appetizer to Sushi. Instead of Dahi stock & Miso paste, I used chicken stock and added about 1 1/2 tsp of chicken base & freshly cracked black pepper & then added the Soy Sauce. I followed recipe directions as best as I could except I cooked green onion in broth for a very few minutes instead of waiting to use as garnishment. I also added at the last minute a hand full of roughly chopped fresh spinach leaves until they were wilted. Soy, tofu, mushrooms all helped to give it an Asian flavor. It was very good! Will definitely fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very good soup! It was a little on the salty side, so I may use reduced sodium soy sauce the next time I make it, but my husband and I really enjoyed it. My husband is very picky when it comes to stuff like this and he said it was almost as good as the miso soup our local Chinese restaurants serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Oh so good. We don't eat un-fermented soy so I substituted tiny pork strips for the tofu. Thanks so much for a recipe everyone in the house loves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I thought this recipe was great! I just finished cooking it. Due to the remote area that I live in, I couldn't get any Dashi stock so I substituded it with a mixture of vegie stock and chicken broth. I also added nori to it (thanks to some of the other reviews) and I found it to be an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Ellsworth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States