Japanese Shrimp Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This is really good it taste just like real Japanese shrimp sauce. Way better then the other one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This recipe was very close to our local Japanese steak houses. However, it makes too much. I have substituted low fat mayo and garlic salt instead of the garlic powder and salt. I also added a little more ketchup to taste. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This is a decent salad dressing if you omit the hot pepper sauce, but it is not at all like the shrimp sauce in any Japanese restaurant I have been. It is not the right color or the right taste. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This was aweful!! I LOVE the white sauce at my local Japanese restaurant (carolina style) and this was not even close. it was so sour when I opened the blender I gagged. Sorry about the poor review but I would give it a big 0 if it were an option. Again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Ive been looking for this recipe! I eat at our local Sakura often and my partner loves the shrimp dip. HOwever, I love the other dip they tend to give us, its a brown dip but I have no idea what it is our cook wouldnt divulge much only to say it had ketchup in it. What is is this sauce and I want the recipe! :-) If you do know... please let me know! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
The first time I tried it I used a lite rice vinegar by Marukin and it was awful. It stunk so bad I could barely eat it. The next time, I used a Japanese Rice vinegar by a company called Kame and it was darn near perfect. I'd recommend shopping for rice vinegars before you totally dismiss this recipe. It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I must agree with the user that stated that this recipe waS better than the other one. I did scale the ingredients to 2 servings; I didn't think I would need THAT much sauce. Thanks for the great recipe! Note - I did add rice wine vinegar - I'd add 4 TBSP to the original 10 serving yield (when scaled to 2, I used about half a teaspoon of rice wine vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Needed some doctoring (vinegar, extra hot sauce, more garlic) but overall was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Very good...I scaled the recipe down to 2.5 servings and used vinegar instead of water. I wanted the sauce a little thicker so I added more mayo. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger which made it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Excellent, might want to decrease the water a little to make it thicker like the Japanese Resteraunts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States