Japanese Shrimp Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was very good. Not quite what I was used to at the Japanese Restaurants..but still very tasty. I did not add the water since I felt like it would be too runny...and I cut the recipe in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
this is delicious and tastes exactly like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
this recipe doesnt taste anything like a normal japanese steakhouse recipe, the best recipe has mayo rice vinegar paprika garlic powder butter sugar (splenda works well to)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
this is ok-not horrible...i used to work in a japanese steak house and there are a few key ing.that are left out in this recipe.subhoney for some of the sugar, sub all of the hot sauce for cayenne & add ground ginger, turmeric, and believe it or not , canned peaches. i know for a fact that those ing. are in shrimp sauce. unfortunateley, the proportions i don't know. have fun experimenting for perfect shrimp sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Excellent, might want to decrease the water a little to make it thicker like the Japanese Resteraunts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Very good...I scaled the recipe down to 2.5 servings and used vinegar instead of water. I wanted the sauce a little thicker so I added more mayo. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger which made it really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Needed some doctoring (vinegar, extra hot sauce, more garlic) but overall was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I must agree with the user that stated that this recipe waS better than the other one. I did scale the ingredients to 2 servings; I didn't think I would need THAT much sauce. Thanks for the great recipe! Note - I did add rice wine vinegar - I'd add 4 TBSP to the original 10 serving yield (when scaled to 2, I used about half a teaspoon of rice wine vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
The first time I tried it I used a lite rice vinegar by Marukin and it was awful. It stunk so bad I could barely eat it. The next time, I used a Japanese Rice vinegar by a company called Kame and it was darn near perfect. I'd recommend shopping for rice vinegars before you totally dismiss this recipe. It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Ive been looking for this recipe! I eat at our local Sakura often and my partner loves the shrimp dip. HOwever, I love the other dip they tend to give us, its a brown dip but I have no idea what it is our cook wouldnt divulge much only to say it had ketchup in it. What is is this sauce and I want the recipe! :-) If you do know... please let me know! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States