Japanese Shrimp Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This recipe is definitely a good guide--the proportions are good. But the best advice I can give is to use pickle juice. That's how they get that flavor at Miyabi. Light on the ketchup, no vinegar, light on the water, and definitely use paprika. Use the water to get whatever consistency you like, but you need at least 1 Tbs. of dill pickle juice. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My son loves this sauce. I made it for a group of friends - a great success! It is sweet but very simaliar to the original sauce I have had in an authentic Japanese Steak House. I can finally have shrimp at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
When I first made this it didn't really have much flavor. My family loves heat so I added a lot more chili sauce and some fresh garlic and let it chill for a few hours. It can out sooo good. And it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blessing, Texas, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
At first, I thought, ". It's not at all what I thought." So, I added some more paprika and a little onion powder. But the trick is to let the flavors blend together in the 'fridge for at least 2 hours. When it was all said and done, it wasn't bad at all... the family loved it and said it tastes just like what we get at our local Japanese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My husband and I are a huge fan of this sauce. I added some heavy whipping cream to tone down the mayo and sweet taste. It's great with fried rice, chicken and shrimp. Even on salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I found this very bland...my family didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I only used this recipe as a guide to what kind of ingredients to use for a shrimp sauce. I used cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce. I did not add any water what-so-ever, and I substituted the sugar for honey. Add garlic powder and black pepper to taste. Yummy! Not runny at all. We prefer this to the sauce we get at Japanese resturants, mainly because we can give it some more kick with that cayenne pepper. Thanks for the excellent recipe guide!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This is not what I am used to eating. But this sauce is okay. I am sorry to say that I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I was in a pinch and didn't have any rice vinegar. I stirred in some orange juice in place of the water and used honey in place of the sugar. Maybe not exactly restaurant quality but received high praise anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Excellent-have been looking for this exact recipe for over 2 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States