Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was nothing like the delicious shrimp sauce the local restaurants serve. I felt like I was eating plain mayo. My husband and I had to pour it out it was so yucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is pretty tasty but not exactly like what you would get a a hibachi place. I reduce the vinegar and I actually really like vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
For it to be a steakhouse or sushi sauce, you need Siracha, sesame oil. Good tries here and some yumma! But keep trying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This recipe is somewhat like Japanese Shrimp Sauce, but too sweet and really tangy -- I tweaked it, and made adjustments as follows: 2 cup Mayo 3 tbs white sugar 2 tbs rice vinegar 4 tbs melted butter 2 tsp paprika 1 tsp garlic powder ** melt butter first in mixing bowl - when melted add paprika, then sugar, rice vinegar, garlic powder, then ,mayo - mix well -- enjoy :) --- KB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
The vinegar over flavored it tremendously
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think for the amount of time it takes to make this recipe (very little) and the complexity of the ingredients (not very), it's an excellent recipe. Using regular white vinegar works as well. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have made it several times and my family loves it, they say it is better than the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Greenlaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Used vegenaise in place of mayonnaise, replaced sugar with brown rice syrup. Left out butter completely. Thought it was delicious. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ethansnana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The sauce was great, but like others, I've made some edits to make it more like the shrimp sauce I'm used to. First, full-fat mayo. The light version gave it a very distinct mayonnaise taste that I did not care for. Sorry, dieters. Then I doubled up on the paprika, and added crushed garlic in addition to the garlic powder. Lastly, and this is a little random, but a spoonful of ginger salad dressing made it a perfect match to what they serve at Benihanas down here in Miami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anji

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States