Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe is alright, its gives a start to making the sauce and I found it useful. Do not use "Miracle Whip" use best foods and I used more paprika twice as much as stated and like wise with the other ingrediants to my liking especially the butter. Do not use too much vinegar ! Please let me know if this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
It is clear that there are several varieties of shrimp sauce. I found this recipe to be a great salad or cold shrimp dressing. For those looking for a more mellow shrimp sauce - here it is. 4 cups of mayonaise 16 oz. can peaches in heavy syrup 2 tbls. honey 1 tbls. paprika 1 tbls. soy sauce Put in blender and mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I've made this sauce a few times actually. I went to Poland to study for 6 months and I was missing japanese food with the shrimp seafood sauce. Found this recipe and was so excited! This recipe is not bad, not exactly restaurant-style, but almost close. The portions are not right or something is missing. I can't figure it out yet. Me and my roomate agreed that it was a bit tangy (she wouldn't have it) but my husband absolutly loves this sauce and begs me to make it occasionally. I think if you add a little less rice vinegar (like 2 tblspns) and use sweet paprika it tastes better. Just adjust the portions and it will come out the way you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
YUM YUM! My dad LOVES this stuff. He claims it taste just like what is served in the japanese resturants :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I thought this recipe was great. It was a little different from the sauce I was thinking about, but it was just as good. The key is to let it stand for about 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
The sauce was a bit too sweet and tangy for what we get in the Japanese restaurants in my area, even when we halved the sugar and rice vinegar. It would make a nice salad dressing, but otherwise it wasn't what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I am so glad someone posted this Recipe. Lime thank you so much!!! I moved to a new area about 6 years ago because I thought the resaurant I once frequented back home was Chinese and they served this delicous shrimp sauce. Well when I moved I figured the Chinese resaurants would serve the same. Every one I went in I asked for it and they just looked really confused brought the red sauce you sometimes dip shrimp in. Well, I thought I'd make my own if I could find the recipe. Typed in the search engine on the computer and there it was. Easy as pie. Anyway I dont mean to be long winded but I really appreciate you posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This is REALLY close to the shrimp sauce I am used to. It is just a tad too tangy. It may help to decrease the amount of rice vinegar, or is there one ingredient missing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is truly excellent and tastes just like the sauce at our favorite Japanese restaurant. I used the fat free mayo and it still tastes just as great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very easy and I had all the ingredients in my fridge or cabinet. Thanks for posting, it was wonderful with my shrimp and fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States