Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
YUM YUM! My dad LOVES this stuff. He claims it taste just like what is served in the japanese resturants :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I am so glad someone posted this Recipe. Lime thank you so much!!! I moved to a new area about 6 years ago because I thought the resaurant I once frequented back home was Chinese and they served this delicous shrimp sauce. Well when I moved I figured the Chinese resaurants would serve the same. Every one I went in I asked for it and they just looked really confused brought the red sauce you sometimes dip shrimp in. Well, I thought I'd make my own if I could find the recipe. Typed in the search engine on the computer and there it was. Easy as pie. Anyway I dont mean to be long winded but I really appreciate you posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
The sauce was a bit too sweet and tangy for what we get in the Japanese restaurants in my area, even when we halved the sugar and rice vinegar. It would make a nice salad dressing, but otherwise it wasn't what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This is REALLY close to the shrimp sauce I am used to. It is just a tad too tangy. It may help to decrease the amount of rice vinegar, or is there one ingredient missing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I was looking for the orange sauce served at some Japanese hibachi restaurants I've been to. This is not it. It's still quite good though. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the rice vinegar and added about 1/2 cup water to reduce the thickness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I thought this recipe was great. It was a little different from the sauce I was thinking about, but it was just as good. The key is to let it stand for about 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This was far too sweet and not what I was looking for at all. It didn't have that richness that I get from the sauces at Japanese restaurants. I do agree that it might make a nice salad dressing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
MMMM this sauce is soo good it is the same sauce that they use at Yamatos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
The shrimp sauce was good. It is better the next day. I used just a little less of the rice vinegar, and my family thought I bought it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Thank you for sharing your recipe! We go to a local Japanese Steak house that serves this (called Yum Yum sauce) and we have become addicted to it :o)! We were glad to find the recipe! Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States