Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
It was ok, but didn't taste like the sauce I'm used to in the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
We played with the portions and it worked. It turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I thought this was REALLY good! I got online looking for a recipe because I forgot to buy cocktail sauce and I might like this even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe is kinda/sorta pretty close, but here's a key suggestion: don't add sugar; instead, use MIRIN. yummmmmmmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe is alright, its gives a start to making the sauce and I found it useful. Do not use "Miracle Whip" use best foods and I used more paprika twice as much as stated and like wise with the other ingrediants to my liking especially the butter. Do not use too much vinegar ! Please let me know if this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very easy and I had all the ingredients in my fridge or cabinet. Thanks for posting, it was wonderful with my shrimp and fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I agree with most reviews, too much vinegar. But it's darn close to be perfect, just a little tweaking and you can find what suits your flavor. Also, adding honey helps sweeten the flavor of the sauce, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
It is clear that there are several varieties of shrimp sauce. I found this recipe to be a great salad or cold shrimp dressing. For those looking for a more mellow shrimp sauce - here it is. 4 cups of mayonaise 16 oz. can peaches in heavy syrup 2 tbls. honey 1 tbls. paprika 1 tbls. soy sauce Put in blender and mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I've made this sauce a few times actually. I went to Poland to study for 6 months and I was missing japanese food with the shrimp seafood sauce. Found this recipe and was so excited! This recipe is not bad, not exactly restaurant-style, but almost close. The portions are not right or something is missing. I can't figure it out yet. Me and my roomate agreed that it was a bit tangy (she wouldn't have it) but my husband absolutly loves this sauce and begs me to make it occasionally. I think if you add a little less rice vinegar (like 2 tblspns) and use sweet paprika it tastes better. Just adjust the portions and it will come out the way you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
THIS RECIPE WAS GREAT! I ADDED 1 TEASPOON OF KETCHUP AND 1 TEASPOON OF PEACH JUICE. AND LET IT SIT, COVERED IN THE REFRIGERATOR FOR A FEW HOURS. IF U EAT IMMEIDATELY, YOU WILL ONLY TASTE MAYO. *I HAD IT ON A SALAD. THEN ON CHICKEN TERRIYAKI WITH FRIED WHITE RICE, ZUCCHINI AND ONIONS. ITS WAS SOO GOOD. MY FAMILY LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States