Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This comes darn close to the stuff at the restaurants. The only thing I add is 1 tsp of tomato paste. Then it's perfect! And you HAVE to let it sit in the fridge overnight to let the flavors develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This recipe was good. I wil cut the sugar to 2 tbsp next time but otherwise I liked it. I made it literally last minute so I will put in frig a few hours ahead of time next time but I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I thought this tasted like vinegar with mayo. You only need 1tbsp of rice wine vinegar, 1tbsp + 1tsp of sugar, and up the paprika to 1tsp. When changed, at least for me, it tasted very close to what I am used to. But there are so many different local versions of this. I used light mayo and light butter spread and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I think I figured out the missing ingredient all: Ketchup. Add about a tablespoon or so (to taste) and refrigerate. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I thought it was a good foundation for japanese shrimp sauce. I tweaked the amounts and added a few extras (honey, cayenne, fresh garlic instead of powder, salt and fresh ginger). It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swan_Song

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made this. The vinegar taste was WAY too strong. I was pretty dissapointeed because it did not taste nearly as good as the sauce at our favorite Japanese restuarant. The next time we ate there we asked them what was in their sauce, and they would not tell us. However they did say yes when we asked if they used ketchup in the sauce. So that is atleast one thing missing. It was still a good sauce after sitting in the fridge for a while, maybe a good salad dressing... it just was not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I wanted to make "white sauce" and found this recipe. It's not quite the same as the restaurant kind, a bit too tangy. But it's still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Sooo excited to find this recipe. We moved to the northeast and the Japanese Steak Houses here don't have this sauce. I made it tonight and brought it with us. Sooo good. I will decrease the amount of vinegar next time, but otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gawildflower
Home Town: Clayton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is good. I made the following adjustments and found it better. First use real mayonaisse. Not Mircle Whip. Second eliminate the sugar AND the rice vinegar and use sushi vinegar. It is already sweetened. Third I added about a teaspoon of ketchup. Fourth, definitely let it set over night. The flavor changes immensly after setting. I found this to be very close to what I have had in steakhouse resturants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My husband thinks it's better than the restaurant's. I omitted 1 teas. of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States