Japanese Shrimp Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Tastes exactly like the restaurants! I used a tad more vinegar because I love the kick. I'm surprised this recipe doesn't have higher ratings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I love this stuff!! I prefer to use Nakano seasoned rice vinegar and used 3 tablespoons of butter. I'm close to matching my local version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Tastes great! I use it every time I stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Everyone in our family loves this shrimp sauce. I don't know if it how the Japanese restaurants make it, but it tastes spot on. I've seen some others comment on not using Miracle Whip, but quite honestly, we think it is better than regular mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This turned out pretty good but was a little too sweet in my opinion. I will cut the sugar back to 1 tablespoon next time or either leave it out entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
What its missing is ginger...but this is to taste, so I don't know how much. I cut a chunk about 1/2 inch by 1 inch, about 1/2 inch thick, and squeezed it through a garlic press over the bowl...use the juice and the grated ginger that is expressed. Almost perfect...still a little too tangy in my opinion, but a few tbs of pureed peaches helps that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I have never had the Japanese sauce before. I have only had the red shrimp cocktail sauce. This is very good and I do like it. I use the lobster flaky pieces and make a salad and used this for dressing and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent sauce! The rice vinegar really adds the kick. I would use less sugar, and add a pinch of cayenne for a little heat, to send this sauce to the front of the pack. Excellent with fried rice and a California roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Good start. In my opinion, the "missing" ingredient is a tablespoon of tomato paste. Hence the pinkish orange color (why do they call something orangey-pink "white sauce" anyway?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This comes darn close to the stuff at the restaurants. The only thing I add is 1 tsp of tomato paste. Then it's perfect! And you HAVE to let it sit in the fridge overnight to let the flavors develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States