Japanese Sesame Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I was disappointed. I lived ia alberta for 25 years and had fun trying to guess which restaurant this is from. My guess is "The Keg" but I have been gone for a long time so who knows, there coukd be a whole new chain I don't know about!! As far as this recipe, I didn't like it. I did add sugar and a little balsamic vinegar which helped. Te each their own taste I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyousblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
While this sauce is similar in consistency to what is served in the aforementioned restaurants it isn't accurate. There is no mayonnaise in the actual sauce but it is made in a similar way to mayo (ie it's an emulsion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was pretty good but it received 3 stars from me due to the very strong ginger taste. Next time I'll try cutting the ginger quantity in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I hae been looking for this recipe for so long!! I have been buying this sauce from the alberta restaurant and now i'm so happy I can make it at home! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was very yummy! I am often accused of liking "weird" stuff and this meets my standard very deliciously! Use a stick blender for super-fast mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I am in LOVE with this sauce and frequent the restuarant that it is served at, just for this sauce. Now I can finally make it at home! Upon first taste it tasted a little heavy on the ginger, but letting it sit for about 20 minutes in the fridge made all the flavors meld. LOVE IT! Thanks so much, my search is over. Try it, you won't like steak without it after trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I am sorry but I just didn't care for this sauce as written. I found that, for me, it was very strongly tahini flavoured and a bit gritty in texture. But, I kept adding quite a bit of mayonnaise, about 1 tsp sesame oil, more garlic, and about 1 Tbsp very finely minced fresh ginger. So, in the end, I am afraid I completely changed the recipe but made it more appropriate for our tastes. I used it as a dip for toasted ravioli which is also on this site, and it was a nice compliment. Thank you, Laurieloo for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I have been trying to figure out how to make this steak sauce forever!!! I now live in Ont. and used to get my family to ship the original sauce out to me from Alberta, now I can make it at home. If you have never tryed this before beware....it is very addicting hahaha. Going to make it tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States