Japanese Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This has a nice, fresh flavor. Like some others, I reduce the oil to about 1/3 C and I added a drizzle of sesame oil. I also added a chopped up carrot to the mix in the blender. You don't really notice the taste of the carrot, but it bulks out the dressing with some body. And, hey, more veggies = good, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe was AMAZING! Just bursting with flavor and even better than the dressing I've had in Japanese Restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
DIFFERENT..SO LIGHT WITH JUST A NICE BITE OF SOME OF THE INGREDIENTS STAND OUT..AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Bailey Best

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
LOVE THIS! We have tried with little success to replicate the yummy ginger dressing at one of our favorite Japanese restaurants. This came pretty darn close and has become one of our regular salad dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Great recipe. It tastes just like the dressing at a Japanese restaurant. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added two tablespoons of rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I found a similar recipe on a different site and decided to do a combo of the two. For the oil I used peanut oil instead of the vegetable oil and I used lemon juice instead of lime. I did not make as written so it is hard for me to rate this recipe but the one thing I think this recipe is missing is vinegar. I replaced some of the soy sauce with rice vinegar and it came out spot on to what is served at our favorite Japanese Steakhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I tried this recipe and its really good. I made a few changes. Now I think it's perfect. Changes are: I added 1 cleaned raw carrot, cilantro instead of celery, 2T sugar, 1/4 c. sesame oil, and 1 tsp. red pepper flakes, 1/4 c sesame seeds. I put all ingredients in blender until smooth. Refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I would add less vinegar next time and use fesh ginger (I cheated and used the ginger in a tube.) it has a fresh taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brian Head, Utah, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm always nervous to try a recipe with so few reviews, but i had company over and gave it a shot. Perfect! I didn't have fresh ginger so used powdered and reduced oil to 1/3 cup. Otherwise followed recipe exactly. An absolute hit. I'm making it again for a luncheon tomorrow. Highly recommend if you like the hibachi-restaurant favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Just made this and love it! I added 1 tablespoon of light sesame oil with the veg oil. It is yummy! Just had this on a salad for lunch. Can't wait for supper to have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States