Japanese Restaurant Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anastasia
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This was SO amazing! Love the simplicity of the recipe. Often the fewer the ingredients, the better the result! My husband is Japanese & LOVES this salad. I julienned four cucumbers, doubled everything except the sesame oil & it was a 10!! Thank you!! YUMMMMYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Very easy recipe to make, great for new cooks and those new to Japanese cuisine. I loved how the spices worked together to feature the flavor of the cucumber unlike salad dressing which tends to cover over the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cheuvront

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Excellent as written and one of our favorites as a salad or a snack. I add a dimension by tossing the cucumber slices with about 1 Tablespoon of Kosher salt, making sure it is well mixed. Allow to rest for 10 minutes, then rinse the cucumbers and drain well before adding them to the rice vinegar dressing. The end result will be sweet, spicy, crunchy cucumbers. You can also add length-wise sliced wedges of sweet onion to the vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleescraga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Didn't care for the Sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
What an excellent recipe. I made it with the ingredients as written but do not measure as a chef I just eyeball them. I did use a great chili garlic sauce by Schiriachia and it was outstanding Thanks for a great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Hubshman-Edinger

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
So simple and so yummy, I followed the recipe exactly in this case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Tried this recipe and my family loved it! Adding it to my rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Outstanding. Sometimes I double the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It's a delicious recipe! I did add Garlic be aside garlic makes everything that much more amazing. Discretion on how much you put in is up to you, I added a lot (1 TB of minced). I also scooped out the seeds, and thinly sliced the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States