Japanese Restaurant Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is a very good recipe--just like what you get in a restaurant! I had some Persian cucumbers that needed to get used up, and I was lucky to find this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
i like the recipe and make cucumber salads often. i changed it slightly. i used apple cider vinegar rather than the rice vinegar (i did have rice vinegar). i also put a little lime juice and sesame seeds on top. the chili paste is very tasty in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizanne Stamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
FANTASTIC. When I was really young, my best friends were Japanese, and my friends' mom would make this for us at lunch sometimes, along with a sliced octopus salad marinated in the same type of dressing/marinade. SO yummy!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It's a delicious recipe! I did add Garlic be aside garlic makes everything that much more amazing. Discretion on how much you put in is up to you, I added a lot (1 TB of minced). I also scooped out the seeds, and thinly sliced the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is so authentic and tasty! The flavor of the sesame oil is incredible. I used one large English cucumber and because I did not have chili paste, I used chili garlic sauce instead. My young children loved it as a side and I mixed some of these cucumbers with romaine lettuce and shredded rotisserie chicken. I then used the sauce as a dressing and sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. Delicious! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a winner! Made with our fresh garden cucumbers, it is light, crunchy, refreshing with a little kick at the end. It's really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Really good it seems like its going to be dry until you let it sit for a little bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Good, exactly what I was looking for, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Tasty even before the 30 minutes of marinading. I halved the recipe for 1/2 a large cucumber and that seemed right, so you may need to increase the dressing for 2 large cucumbers. Similar to what a Japanese friend made for me but she didn't use the chili garlic paste, which adds a nice kick, not too overpowering. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I reduced the servings to 2 and found it a little dry so I doubled up on the rice vinegar, sugar, and chile. Using the called for amount of sesame oil was too much, the flavor overpowering everything. Next time I'll just add a tsp. of that. Otherwise, this is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States