Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I am so happy that I found this recipe, even though I did alter it just a bit by adding more chicken stock and some black pepper for more of a bite just like at my local Japanese Steak House. Thanks so much for posting such a delicious and yummy recipe that warms the heart and soul! ♥ Cuddlebear90
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
this recipe is great! exactly what i have been looking for! just like my favorite oriental restaurants! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBUGS5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was not exactly like the soup I am used to at our local restaurant, but I was pleased with the flavor, and it's a great way to keep me on track with Weight Watchers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
It didn't have the specific taste I expected like I used to have at my favorite Japanese Steak House and my broth turned out kind of murky.Did I need more salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I think I put too many mushrooms in the stock (although I didn't add many), because it was waaay too mushroom-y. Next time I probably won't put any mushrooms in the stock, and just add some at the end. We didn't end up eating it, but I think it was fault of my own, so I didn't give it a bad rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
5 Stars; Very delicious! Thanks for the recipe; will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan and Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Absolutely loved this recipe. I've been looking for a Japanese Onion Soup recipe for years -- trying to mimick the local hibachi restaurant. This was IT! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I'm quite surprised at all of the positive reviews of this soup. It was extremely bland so I added salt & pepper but even that couldn't save the soup. I really did not care for the soup and would not make it again. I prefer something with more flavor and why it's called Japanese onion soup when it's really mushroom soup is the real mystery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This approximated Benihana's onion soup, but didn't quite make it. Still good, though! I made mine in a pressure cooker by reducing the liquid to 5 cups (I should have done 4 cups) and adding all other ingredients as listed, except for chopped shiitakes. I just got some white sliced mushrooms from the produce section without checking their type, and poured the broth over those with some sliced green onions and french fried onions. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Just like the soup served at our local Japanese place but with a little more bite. I didn't see how all the ingredients were going to work together but after simmering for the time specified they worked perfectly. Due to an extremely picky family I left out the mushrooms entirely. Luckily it still came together fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States