Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great soup! Very similar to Japanese restaurant style. I used better than boullion and sliced button mushrooms. I think the pre-made fried onion rings are great in this as well. Important to allow the veggies to simmer and flavor the broth. You can also add dried noodles to the simmering broth for a heartier soup, but the beauty of this is the simplicity of clear soup. Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is terrible! Has to be tweaked a lot...provides a decent starting point, but falls very short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made it before and it was a little bland, so I add about 1 tsp. frozen chives, and 1/4C chicken stock. The other pit I have about 1C each type mushrooms and a little finely sliced carrots and it's much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Really really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
to those who said they ended up with watery soup...the recipe is not referring to liquid chicken stock, but a paste like concentrate that comes in a jar or plastic tub. If you cannot find it, substitute 3 or 4 chicken bouillon cubes, but the stock is definitely preferable. It is delicious and healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This soup is really good! My store was out of shitake mushrooms so I used all baby portobello mushrooms. I could eat this for lunch any day! Topped with fresh chives :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Dried Shitake mushrooms have so much more flavor/more bang for the buck. I always use dried. I think great results have a lot to do with your water source, too. Chlorine is going to adversely affect any recipe, especially soups which are mostly water. Water purifier right on (or under) the sink is best, or buy triple-osmosis filtered water, or just use the pitcher kind. (When using dried mushrooms you must rehydrate first, cut off the hard stem.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I have eaten at many Japanese Steak Houses/Hibachi Restaurants and this did not taste like any of them. I had to add a generous amount of salt to make it taste like the restaurant; much less taste like anything. Next time, I'll do more chicken stock (or chicken broth) and less water. Also, instead of discarding some perfectly good cooked vegetables, we cooked up a box of West End Rice with Almonds and added the veggies into it. You could just cook some white or jasmine rice and do the same. I felt much better about that than throwing the other stuff away. Loved making it and trying out something new but was disappointed without adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very good! I added thinly sliced mushrooms, scallions and French's dried onions to individual servings. If you like this kind of soup, this is your recipe. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURRBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I added actual beef- london broil- and brown rice, both to add body and make the soup a meal by itself, and found the soup filling and sustaining. I do recommend it. An almost unique combination of traditional French onion soups and beef/mushroom soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States