Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Ok, I tried this recipe and it didn't quite taste right, then I remembered what does every Japanese restaurant use? Soy Sauce, put a little soy sauce in your soup. Also what does every restaurant do to extend their soup? Add water. Once I added some water the beef broth wasn't so bold and the little bit of soy sauce made it closer to Hibachi, but not quite perfect, but close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Henninger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very close too ha you find I in hibachi restaurants. I added two cups of the broth to avoid the watery taste some people mentioned. This seemed to completely fix that problem. Also I ommited the ginger this time around, but next time I will include it. Also look into dried shiitake mushrooms which are sposed or have mores flavor than the fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley Barker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I read the reviews before making this and decided to make the following changes based off what I read. 2 quarts equals 8 cups so instead of using 8 cups of water, I used 2 cups of water, 4 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups of beef broth and then I left out the beef bouillon. Shiitake's are hard to find in my area and not affordable so my intention was to use all portobello's but my store was fresh out of them forcing me to use button mushrooms. Hard to rate since I did not make as written but I honestly think some of the water needs replaced with more flavorful liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great soup! Very similar to Japanese restaurant style. I used better than boullion and sliced button mushrooms. I think the pre-made fried onion rings are great in this as well. Important to allow the veggies to simmer and flavor the broth. You can also add dried noodles to the simmering broth for a heartier soup, but the beauty of this is the simplicity of clear soup. Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is terrible! Has to be tweaked a lot...provides a decent starting point, but falls very short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made it before and it was a little bland, so I add about 1 tsp. frozen chives, and 1/4C chicken stock. The other pit I have about 1C each type mushrooms and a little finely sliced carrots and it's much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Really really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
to those who said they ended up with watery soup...the recipe is not referring to liquid chicken stock, but a paste like concentrate that comes in a jar or plastic tub. If you cannot find it, substitute 3 or 4 chicken bouillon cubes, but the stock is definitely preferable. It is delicious and healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This soup is really good! My store was out of shitake mushrooms so I used all baby portobello mushrooms. I could eat this for lunch any day! Topped with fresh chives :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Dried Shitake mushrooms have so much more flavor/more bang for the buck. I always use dried. I think great results have a lot to do with your water source, too. Chlorine is going to adversely affect any recipe, especially soups which are mostly water. Water purifier right on (or under) the sink is best, or buy triple-osmosis filtered water, or just use the pitcher kind. (When using dried mushrooms you must rehydrate first, cut off the hard stem.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States