Japanese Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really watery with a bad aftertaste, the only flavor in there. We had to basically dump a tub of salt and pepper in there to make it edible. A for effort though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I enjoyed this soup, although it was alittle salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
It was really good, a bit bland. lol Makes you calm and sleepy:)'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.Allison23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
not that this soup wasn't tasty, but it was definitely not what i was looking for. It tasted more like beef top ramen than japanese onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I thought it was incredible--but that's only because I slightly changed the quantities of the ingredients. I've never tried it in the way that the recipe calls for. Instead, I use a full stalk of celery, half of a normal onion, a full carrot (but I used baby carrots, just approximated a full carrot out of them), used a full section of the garlic, 2 cups of any kind of mushroom, and used green onions as chives--according to someone who works at WalMart, they're the same thing. When I put the combination of the ingredients into the pan, I put in one cup of the mushrooms (in my case, either portabella or whole) in it, and used the other cup of them to top the soup. I also increased the amount of green onions since I always liked it in the Tokyo SteakHouse soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I gave this five stars because it tastes really good, is easy to make and the recipe is flexible. I used an entire white onion, a hand full of baby carrots, 2 cloves of garlic, 3 beef boullion cubes and a teaspoon of salt. I let it boil and simmer for an hour. It was delicious. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This soup is WONDERFUL. It tastes just like the soup at Japanese steak houses. It does take a little while to prepare, though. I save the simmered mixed vegetables and add them to my soup, but everyone else in my family prefers the soup as described in the recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaSea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
We added Black Thread fungus and the juices into the stock. Excellent, not enough onion though, never are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
It was very good, I was pleased with how it came out. No it's not Benihana's but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowe4me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this and it was great. The only thing I changed was I added a couple Tbs. miso and some tofu cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States