Japanese Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Tasty, but came out really heavy. Maybe I should have used Miso base instead of water...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grue_slayer
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Everyone loved it! Instead of 4 big cakes it made 12 big cakes! Changes I made: added carrots and green onions, used store brand "bacon bits" to save time. After the mayo and tonkatsu sauce I sprinkled on furikake - a rice topping that can be found with sushi ingredients in the asian section. My furikake had bonito, seaweed and sesame seeds. Next time I will buy japanese mayo and dashi soup stock. I will also shred my cabbage by hand instead of throwing it in the Cuisinart so that it comes out in strips, not bits, to hold the food together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I'm not a huge fan of okonomiyaki, but my husband simply loves this recipe! We always use this one and have made it a meal we make on a regular basis, for my husband to eat, that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farragut, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
For my first attempt at okonomiyaki, this was pretty good. I used less flour than called for, dashi broth, a bit of soy sauce, bbq pork instead of bacon, some beansprouts, green onions, shoga (red matchstick ginger),and I used a coleslaw mix instead of chopping cabbage. I garnished with tonkatsu, kewpie mayo, and more shoga. My husband, toddler and I all enjoyed this dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I used a broth instead of water and thin slices of cooked pork instead of bacon for health reasons. I like okonomiyaki, but I think this was too thick. Perhaps it is supposed to be thick? I may reduce the flour next time. I will definitely make it again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinzme
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I just made this and I found it a little starchy... perhaps the amount of flour could be reduced. I also used dashi broth instead of water, and added a little shoyu (soy sauce) to it. I used ika(which was a little weird of okonomiyaki) instead of bacon, and added carrots, onion, and spring onion to give it a heavier balance of veggies. Overall, it was sooooo good to eat okonomiyaki again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I've had alot of okonomiyaki from Japan and I thought this recipe was okay. The batter came out way too thick and didn't taste good. I used bonito stock. I made a second batter with less flour and more stock and it tasted much better. I also added a seafood medley when I cooked it. Not as good as the ones in japan but good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I would use dashi instead of water to add more favor to the base. water is a bit too bland. I wouldnt use BBQ sauce, use Okonomiyaki sauce instead. Other suggested filling: grated yam, chopped leeks, Meat(Chicken, Roast pork, or beef), Seafood (Squid, Octopus, shrimp or dried shrimp favored), Corn, Mushrooms, Onion, parsely, bell pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I haven't made this recipe yet, but it brought back memories of when my mom used to make it. She added sliced squid, bean sprouts, and konnyaku (yam cake-cut into small cubes). Then just before eating them we would put bonito (dried fish flakes), the green dried seaweed and tonkatsu sauce on top. MMM!! I think I will make this soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
My variation is that I leave out the gari and the bacon and add assorted seafood to the batter. It comes in a bag frozen and consists of shrimp, squid, mussels and scallops. Thaw out the seafood then just mix it in. It cooks up perfectly and tastes great with the okonomi-sauce and QP Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States