Japanese Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
A good, simple recipe. Myself, I choose to put the bacon(I use bacon ends - more meat and better flavour) and some green onion in the pan just before the cabbage mix rather than pre cooking the bacon before making the mix. I also use about a half cup less flour as I find this recipe makes the mix too thick and results in the bacon burning on the bottom before it's ready to flip. Just to pretend it's healthy, I also add a few spoonfuls of hemp hearts to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This isn't how it was done in Hiroshima so I modified this quite a lot. For the batter I used an okonomiyaki flour mix for the base. You can get it at any Asian grocery store. Instead of bacon they used thicker slabs of pork. They also offered shrimp. They also fried noodles and put those onto the dish. Kewpie mayonnaise and bonito flakes made for an authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So good, and much easier than I would have guessed. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Delicious! I left out the bacon to keep it vegetarian and only used 1/4 head of cabbage. It is so versatile and easy to make. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
made this as written with the exception of the ginger. (didn't have any) i have not had the authentic dish, so i am not quite sure how to compare. it was good; it was easy, and filling. not quite sure i'd make it again though. i had 1/2 head of cabbage to use up and this looked interesting. thanks for letting me try a new and unusual dish (for me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My husband would have adored this recipe except for the dashi made it way too salty for him. I will use water next time. But instead of bacon i used Eel and put Japanese mayo, okonomiyaki sauce and Japanese rice topping(salmon flavor) on it. He loved it all except for the actual pancake since it was too salty. I know know if it was the dashi i used or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I gave this two stars...However, I think I chopped my cabbage two thick. I am going to try it again and make sure to shred my cabbage on the thin and small side. I think that will improve the recipe greatly. I will update my review accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
My Japanese exchange student says this sounds just home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe is quite incredibly simple but oh so good. I've made it twice so far, each time using the exact recipe for the batter but modifying the protein and toppings that I put in it slightly, and both times the okonomiyaki ends up tasting quite good. This one is definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States