Japanese Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Fabulous! I love Okonomiyaki and this tasted just like the one from our local Japanese Restaurant. Will be making often. Thanks SHEVAUN1 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is a very good Recipe. Everyone that I cooked it for loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
The best place to get these is in Hiroshima, where it originated. Okonomiyaki is comprised of ingredients that the Japanese found left-over by the American soldiers that later came there during the war. This recipe could use some sprucing-up, but it is as good as it gets outside of Hiroshima.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. My oldest son liked it a lot. I had never had this or ever heard of it before. But it was recommended that I try it. I'm glad I did. I think adding some extra veggies would be a good idea. I did add some shredded carrots since I only had half of a cabbage. I could not find pickled ginger so I left it out. I would leave the bacon out next time since I enjoyed the pieces without it more than with it. Thanks I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This is the same way I make it, except I leave out the pickled ginger. The bacon can also be substitued for other meats, I have found ham and shrimp work (but bacon is my fav). You can also add some finely chopped up leek, which really adds to the traditional flavor. I serve it with Okonomiyaki sauce (brown sauce) and Japanese Mayo (it's like american mayo without sugar, so you can substitute regular mayo no problem)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I like this recipe a lot; however, I prefer to use meats that aren't as salty as the cured meats, like beacon and ham... Fresh pork, beef or Chicken breast, sliced thinly and pan fried before combining with the pancake is very good. I really like this dish, though. Also, I like to cut the ribs out of the cabbage to make sure every bite of cabbage is tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBLERTFINCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PARKER71
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This can be a very versatile recipe. Not to mention very delicious as well. As the name suggests, okonomi means your favorite in Japanese. So you can add any of your favorite ingredients in okonomi-yaki. We made ours with shrimp, crab meat and shiitaki mushroom. Instead of water, we used dashi stock which adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
These were pretty good! I'm Japanese so it's a compliment :). I used Shrimp (cooked w/salt & pepper, little garlic butter and soy sauce) chopped it into the batter. I topped mine with mayonaise, tonkatsu sauce, bonita flakes and seasoned nori (seaweed). Reminds me of when I was a little girl in Japan. No more instant mixes ... no way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cscook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Oh, yum! We really enjoyed this. I've never had okonomiyaki before so I wasn't quite sure of what to expect for the taste, but this was excellent. I didn't have any pickled ginger, so unfortunately I left it out. Instead I added green onions. We had it with okonomiyaki sauce. Unfortunately I had no Japanese mayo - and I didn't think American mayo would be the same :) I'll look for aonori next time I'm in an Asian market too. I'll definitely make it again, and I think I'll try shrimp or the mixed seafood suggestion as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Yum! I left out the pickled ginger and sauce because I didn't have any. I tried it with oyster sauce, but didn't like it. I thought it was just fine without sauce. My batter was very thick, so I had to spread it with the spatula in the pan. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States