Japanese Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Five stars for taste even though I'm terrible at the flipping part and I end up eating a mish mash of broken parts. I didn't have bacon so made a vegetarian style which was just as good. I used fresh finely chopped ginger (didn't have pickled) and a splash of soy sauce in the water. Finally, finished with spicy mayo (two parts mayo to one part sriracha hot sauce) and nori sprinkled on top. EDIT: Delicious modified for one person - I used 1/4 c. water to 1/3 c. flour. Also, was more successful in flipping by forming two to three little pancakes rather than one big one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is one of my favourite Japanese diner meals. I left out the (untraditional) bacon and ginger and replaced the cabbage with my favourite okonomiyaki filling kimchi. I also served with Japanese mayo. I was surprised how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is very good and fun to do. I used ground pork instead of bacon since that was the way I was taught by a Japanese friend. You can also use shrimp. Then I used an electric skillet on the dining table to make right in front of family and guests; kinda Hitachi style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Not the kind I know of okonomiyaki. Very, very doughy and heavy. I would decrease flour way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This okonomiyaki is just like the kind you get in the restaurants! I customized it to be the way I usually order it. I cooked udon noodles and put them down to fry in oil before putting the batter down, then the bacon on top of it. Took a bit longer to cook but it was so good! served with katsu sauce and mayonnaise from this site. Oh, and I also skipped the pickled ginger since I have never had it that way. You can also put chunks of salmon instead of the bacon (or just veggie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe yielded pancakes that were a bit too doughy, not the okonomiyaki I remember. Perhaps less flour or more water would fix that. Also, American cabbage is simply too "leathery" for this dish to turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vsopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Yum! I left out the pickled ginger and sauce because I didn't have any. I tried it with oyster sauce, but didn't like it. I thought it was just fine without sauce. My batter was very thick, so I had to spread it with the spatula in the pan. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Oh, yum! We really enjoyed this. I've never had okonomiyaki before so I wasn't quite sure of what to expect for the taste, but this was excellent. I didn't have any pickled ginger, so unfortunately I left it out. Instead I added green onions. We had it with okonomiyaki sauce. Unfortunately I had no Japanese mayo - and I didn't think American mayo would be the same :) I'll look for aonori next time I'm in an Asian market too. I'll definitely make it again, and I think I'll try shrimp or the mixed seafood suggestion as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. My oldest son liked it a lot. I had never had this or ever heard of it before. But it was recommended that I try it. I'm glad I did. I think adding some extra veggies would be a good idea. I did add some shredded carrots since I only had half of a cabbage. I could not find pickled ginger so I left it out. I would leave the bacon out next time since I enjoyed the pieces without it more than with it. Thanks I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this dish using shrimp and cut up cooked ham and cooked chicken. I also used okonomi sauce, which can be bought at any Asian food store. Then mayo on top of the sauce, for a delicious dish. You can put anything you want in it, always delicious. Okonomi means "as you like it" in Japanese, and yaki means fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gimli, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States