Japanese Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Followed the recipe but also added some of Paulitaz ideas from her review. Overall they were very good and the family enjoyed them. I think you can adapt this recipe and add almost any vegetable you like. I added peas, carrot and corn with chopped bacon mixed into it. Another tip is that after you place the sauce onto them, sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Five stars for taste even though I'm terrible at the flipping part and I end up eating a mish mash of broken parts. I didn't have bacon so made a vegetarian style which was just as good. I used fresh finely chopped ginger (didn't have pickled) and a splash of soy sauce in the water. Finally, finished with spicy mayo (two parts mayo to one part sriracha hot sauce) and nori sprinkled on top. EDIT: Delicious modified for one person - I used 1/4 c. water to 1/3 c. flour. Also, was more successful in flipping by forming two to three little pancakes rather than one big one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is one of my favourite Japanese diner meals. I left out the (untraditional) bacon and ginger and replaced the cabbage with my favourite okonomiyaki filling kimchi. I also served with Japanese mayo. I was surprised how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is very good and fun to do. I used ground pork instead of bacon since that was the way I was taught by a Japanese friend. You can also use shrimp. Then I used an electric skillet on the dining table to make right in front of family and guests; kinda Hitachi style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Not the kind I know of okonomiyaki. Very, very doughy and heavy. I would decrease flour way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This okonomiyaki is just like the kind you get in the restaurants! I customized it to be the way I usually order it. I cooked udon noodles and put them down to fry in oil before putting the batter down, then the bacon on top of it. Took a bit longer to cook but it was so good! served with katsu sauce and mayonnaise from this site. Oh, and I also skipped the pickled ginger since I have never had it that way. You can also put chunks of salmon instead of the bacon (or just veggie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe yielded pancakes that were a bit too doughy, not the okonomiyaki I remember. Perhaps less flour or more water would fix that. Also, American cabbage is simply too "leathery" for this dish to turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vsopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Yum! I left out the pickled ginger and sauce because I didn't have any. I tried it with oyster sauce, but didn't like it. I thought it was just fine without sauce. My batter was very thick, so I had to spread it with the spatula in the pan. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Oh, yum! We really enjoyed this. I've never had okonomiyaki before so I wasn't quite sure of what to expect for the taste, but this was excellent. I didn't have any pickled ginger, so unfortunately I left it out. Instead I added green onions. We had it with okonomiyaki sauce. Unfortunately I had no Japanese mayo - and I didn't think American mayo would be the same :) I'll look for aonori next time I'm in an Asian market too. I'll definitely make it again, and I think I'll try shrimp or the mixed seafood suggestion as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. My oldest son liked it a lot. I had never had this or ever heard of it before. But it was recommended that I try it. I'm glad I did. I think adding some extra veggies would be a good idea. I did add some shredded carrots since I only had half of a cabbage. I could not find pickled ginger so I left it out. I would leave the bacon out next time since I enjoyed the pieces without it more than with it. Thanks I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States