Japanese Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe is quite incredibly simple but oh so good. I've made it twice so far, each time using the exact recipe for the batter but modifying the protein and toppings that I put in it slightly, and both times the okonomiyaki ends up tasting quite good. This one is definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Followed the recipe but also added some of Paulitaz ideas from her review. Overall they were very good and the family enjoyed them. I think you can adapt this recipe and add almost any vegetable you like. I added peas, carrot and corn with chopped bacon mixed into it. Another tip is that after you place the sauce onto them, sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Five stars for taste even though I'm terrible at the flipping part and I end up eating a mish mash of broken parts. I didn't have bacon so made a vegetarian style which was just as good. I used fresh finely chopped ginger (didn't have pickled) and a splash of soy sauce in the water. Finally, finished with spicy mayo (two parts mayo to one part sriracha hot sauce) and nori sprinkled on top. EDIT: Delicious modified for one person - I used 1/4 c. water to 1/3 c. flour. Also, was more successful in flipping by forming two to three little pancakes rather than one big one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is one of my favourite Japanese diner meals. I left out the (untraditional) bacon and ginger and replaced the cabbage with my favourite okonomiyaki filling kimchi. I also served with Japanese mayo. I was surprised how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is very good and fun to do. I used ground pork instead of bacon since that was the way I was taught by a Japanese friend. You can also use shrimp. Then I used an electric skillet on the dining table to make right in front of family and guests; kinda Hitachi style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Not the kind I know of okonomiyaki. Very, very doughy and heavy. I would decrease flour way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This okonomiyaki is just like the kind you get in the restaurants! I customized it to be the way I usually order it. I cooked udon noodles and put them down to fry in oil before putting the batter down, then the bacon on top of it. Took a bit longer to cook but it was so good! served with katsu sauce and mayonnaise from this site. Oh, and I also skipped the pickled ginger since I have never had it that way. You can also put chunks of salmon instead of the bacon (or just veggie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe yielded pancakes that were a bit too doughy, not the okonomiyaki I remember. Perhaps less flour or more water would fix that. Also, American cabbage is simply too "leathery" for this dish to turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vsopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Yum! I left out the pickled ginger and sauce because I didn't have any. I tried it with oyster sauce, but didn't like it. I thought it was just fine without sauce. My batter was very thick, so I had to spread it with the spatula in the pan. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Oh, yum! We really enjoyed this. I've never had okonomiyaki before so I wasn't quite sure of what to expect for the taste, but this was excellent. I didn't have any pickled ginger, so unfortunately I left it out. Instead I added green onions. We had it with okonomiyaki sauce. Unfortunately I had no Japanese mayo - and I didn't think American mayo would be the same :) I'll look for aonori next time I'm in an Asian market too. I'll definitely make it again, and I think I'll try shrimp or the mixed seafood suggestion as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States