Japanese Nabeyaki Udon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dezzie
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I liked this. I don't have a reference to compare it to, but I would make this again. I only used 14 ounces of tofu, it was all that would fit in the pot. Loved the noodles. My friend gave me fish flakes, so I made my own dashi stock. I look forward to trying more recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written and thought it was fantastic. I spent a semester studying in Japan (which does not make me an expert, but it does at least make me familiar) and I have to say this struck me as a very authentic, delicious dish. Make sure not to skip the mirin or dashi - their flavors are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great - and so easy! For those who have never tried Japanese noodle soups - this is basically a healthier version of instant raman. If you like that, you'll like this. I use a 12 oz package of tofu and thought it was plenty. You could make this with more broth if you like a brothier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Unfortunately I had chicken broth and not dashi. I'm sure this would be perfect if I were using the right ingredients. As it was, I thought it was great and will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURCL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Delicious! Used oyster mushrooms instead of shitake & left out the eggs but it was still unbelievably tasty. Used the konbudashi recipe (with bonito flakes) on this site as the base. My whole family ate it including my 3 year old who had never had Japanese food before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Made a simplified version, without the noodles. The eggs were scrumptious, and the shiitakes just delicious. So easy to make! Definitely adding it to my rotation. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is very close to the nabeyaki udon my grandma used to make. The dashi stock is important, but if unavailable, chicken stock can work. It is very important to use fresh udon noodles. If you use packaged dry noodles, they will get very soggy and the texture ruins the dish. I like to crack the eggs into the boiling broth and stir it a bit, then there are no big yolk balls. In Hawaii, we eat nabeyaki udon with a bowl of hot rice. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TSmith81
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is simply an amazing recipe, quick and very simple. I love it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was delicious! Very flexible recipe. I used veggie stock and added some bonito flakes to it. I had no other veggies but kale, and the soup was quite yummy with just noodles and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was a very delicious and surprising hearty soup. Almost most too much "stuff" and not enough broth. I will be mindful of adding another couple cups of dashi broth next time. Flavor was nice though and tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Miso Soup

This authentic soup takes just minutes to assemble.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States