Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is also a killer marinade for both steaks and poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefsulli53

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Just made this and tastes just like Kanpai Steak House. A little darker in color, but very close. I used organic ginger and raw honey. Instead of a wisk, my grandmother's antique eggbeater. Kanpai's charges a small fortune for this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This dressing is really good! I did think it needed more sweetener. I added two tsp Truvia but it still wasn't sweet enough for me so I added about 2 more tsp honey. This made it perfect! I also blended the soy sauce, lemon, etc. in the blender then slowly poured in the oil while it was on med. speed. Once it was done I stirred in about two Tbsp sesame seeds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The ingredient list is spot on, but not the quantities. So experiment until you get those right for your own taste. For me, it turned out to be 1:1 oil to fresh squeezed lemon juice. Next time I will try adding grated carrot and/or sesame oil. But this combination of ingredients was spectacular. I would have given it 5 stars if the quantities had been better to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe did not turn out for me. I'm not sure how it turned out for other folks, but it was inedible for us. We crushed up the ginger in a mortar in pestle after chopping it, but it was tough and bitter (I'm wondering if maybe a food processor/blender is the way to go). And the dressing base had way too much soy. Not what I was looking for at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is NOTHING like the dressings in the restaurants. First of all, those dressings aren't oil based, so this doesn't have the right consistency. Secondly, it has WAY too much soy sauce. I tried cutting it with some sugar, but it's still all I can taste. This might be ok as a marinade, but truly awful as a salad dressing, especially if you were expecting the tangy, orange-y dressing they serve in steakhouses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I just made this in the food processor with the following tweaks: - I peeled the ginger root and then threw the entire root in - I peeled and removed the seeds from the lemon and then threw the lemon in, pulp and all - followed others' suggestions by doing 1/2 olive oil, 1/2 peanut oil This gave the dressing a thicker consistency. Very tasty! I used to live in Tokyo and this is very close to what I enjoyed there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I used two teaspoons of Splenda powder instead of the Honey, and added a teaspoon of Balsamic Vinegar. It was not the same color or consistency of the dressings at our local Japanese steakhouse, but the taste was pretty close. Overall, a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Delicious! I used half olive oil, half sesame oil (like others recommended), and substituted ground ginger since I didn't have any fresh. I added the ginger last, beginning with about 1/8 t and kept adding until it tasted good. I probably used about 1/2 t altogether. I used to live in Japan. This reminds me of my time there. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I love this dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States