Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
This is FANTASTIC, and tastes like the japanese steakhouses! I added 1 T. of rice wine vinegar to cut the oil taste, and 1 t. of white pepper as a substitute for the black pepper, put all but the oil in a blender to puree, then added the sesame oil for the olive oil and added it in a steady steam to get the same consistency of the original from the restraunts...my friends and family are raving about it and say it is better than chocolate!!!! It is a MUST try !!! Sesame oil has a better flavor and seems lighter in taste than olive oil..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I made this cause I wanted to try something different, and everyone loves it. My mom actually took the rest of the dressing and wouldnt give it back. The only thing I did was add more garlic, since I am a garlic freak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
My boyfriend loves it! He says it tastes better than you can get in a restaurant, the only problem is it is now the only dressing he will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
i had a craving for the salad they give you at japanese restaurants and found this ginger dressing. while it didn't taste EXACTLY the same, it was delicious and really hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Wonderful! I've tried other dressings, but this is the closest to my favorite Japanese Restaurant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
Delicious dressing! I agree with other reviewer that a tablespoon of rice vinegar adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I gave a small rating for the kids because neither one of my kids tried it...but my husband and I did! We are lovers of Japanese food restaurants and I've always wanted to try a recipe for the ginger dressing and I tried this one because of the previous reviews. First I want to say it was wonderful and my husband loves it as do I! I had always wanted to try to find a ginger dressing. This was the first one. It came out not as thick as the usual and I don't know why but it still tasted really great. I used ground ginger (since I already had it) instead of fresh ginger. I used the same amount of the ground as it said for the fresh. It wasn't as thick as the restaurant style. I DID use olive oil and followed the recipe otherwise. But it was more runny. Will try using fresh ginger the next time. Maybe that will increase the thickness. No matter what though...it was extremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Oh, this was a very nice dressing! I'm not sure if it was exactly like what we have at the japanese restaurant, but it's a very good homemade version. I followed one of the reviewers and added rice wine vinegar and some granulated sugar (about 1 tbsp each). Thanks for the recipe. We'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This is a wonderful dressing! Nice ginger taste...not at all overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNTHLANE1
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This is the BEST dressing I have tasted in years! Since I discovered it on this website approximately four weeks ago, I have made three batches. I eat it on my daily medley of raw vegetables, and I have recommended it to several of my culinary friends, Thank you, Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States