Japanese Ginger Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This is one of the best Ginger dressings I have ever tasted. The only 2 things I do differently are add 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar and use a grinding bowl instead of mincing the ginger. Grinding it makes it more pasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
This is FANTASTIC, and tastes like the japanese steakhouses! I added 1 T. of rice wine vinegar to cut the oil taste, and 1 t. of white pepper as a substitute for the black pepper, put all but the oil in a blender to puree, then added the sesame oil for the olive oil and added it in a steady steam to get the same consistency of the original from the restraunts...my friends and family are raving about it and say it is better than chocolate!!!! It is a MUST try !!! Sesame oil has a better flavor and seems lighter in taste than olive oil..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Great recipe! Though at first it came out bitter for me. I didn't give up though! I added a T. of rice wine vinegar like someone suggested and it helped a lot! But I added something else--white sugar! It helped some sweetness come out of it... so I suggest some white sugar if it's too bitter for anyone. I am a huge fan of japanese restaurants and my final outcome was delicious! I ate two salad bowls full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This ginger dressing is very good, but it isn't what I'm looking for. I would like the one that they serve on salads in restaurants like Benihanas. I wonder if it needs sugared ginger?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
If I have to give this a star, it can only be 1! It was horrible!! I LOVE japanese restaurants and been to a few in my time and NONE of them serve a dressing that even "looks" like this one. What a waste of good olive oil! Hate to be so harsh, but this is NOT your typical japanese salad dressing!! I would say, if you were going to do this, that you could follow the directions for the spice mixture, but mix it with mayo instead of olive oil. I am half-tempted to try it that way myself, because it tasted fine before the olive oil was added. Just a thought for those of you who like to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
My boyfriend loves it! He says it tastes better than you can get in a restaurant, the only problem is it is now the only dressing he will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I followed the recipie to the "T" and it tasted nothing like Ginger dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Tangy, flavorful and delicous. I made a marinated grilled chicken salad with the Peanut Cilantro dip on this site and this dressing. Add some fresh mango and red pepper strips and cashews. It is now one of my favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was quite nice. I just poured it over a simple salad and I liked the ginger, garlicky taste it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is a vinagarette dressing (not a mayonnaise- based dressing as you can tell if you read the ingredients). I followed some of the other reviewers suggestions and added some rice wine vinegar (1TBS) and some white vinegar (1TBS). I also added 1 TBS of white sugar. With these changes it tastes exactly like the ginger dressing served at every Japanese restaurant that I've ever visited. I made the salad with finely chopped carrots, green onions, and julienned cucumber over shredded lettuce, and served it alongside grilled steak. This was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States